Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 34

    Sky V1 firmware update server now up!

    This is a discussion on Sky V1 firmware update server now up! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; update did not happen, my router is still on firmware V1.02.28....

    1. #21
      m8nz's Avatar
      m8nz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Albert-DK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky V1 firmware update server now up!

      update did not happen, my router is still on firmware V1.02.28.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Sky V1 firmware update server now up!

      I assume that having to do a million of these things that it's going to take a few days to do them all anyways.

      Either that or nobody at sky is willing to sign off on it yet as I reckon that approx 5% will be bricked anyways and that's going to be 50,000 routers that will need to be supplied and nobody wants to have their signiture on that.

    4. #23
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sky V1 firmware update server now up!

      The way the update works is that Sky make the upgrade available on their upgrade server, and the router, which periodically checks the upgrade server to see if new firmware is available, downloads and installs it.

      As to how often the router checks for an upgrade is something I haven't quite figured out yet. It seems to check three times, with a random interval of between 2 and 10 minute between each check. But once it's done that, it doesn't seem to perform the check again for a few days. The upshot of this is that once Sky have made the update available, it will take several days for all the V1 routers to take and download the upgrade.

      I'd imagine that most upgrades will be fine, after all, the router is upgrading itself, so there's none of the complications like can be seen with the Netgear Recovery Utility which has to cope (and often fails) with a range of operating systems, network adaptors and so on. The biggest risk is that while the router's reflashing, there won't be any Internet access and some customers might end up power cycling their router when they see that they've lost their Internet access and the router is flashing its lights in a way they've never seen before. Because of the way the upgrade program works, it's just as likely that the router will attempt to upgrade itself during the evening (when many people will be using their PCs), as it would in the early hours of the morning (when most people would be in bed).

    5. #24
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sky V1 firmware update server now up!

      I changed the NVRAM settings to force the router to check for an update, and the router failed to find one, so Sky can't have put it on the upgrade server yet. How much longer do we have to wait?

      Mind you, I'm expecting Sky to send out new "keep me handy" cards with a new WPA network key. It having been demonstrated that the default WPA network key can easily be determined from the router's MAC address, it would be scandalous for Sky to roll out an update without fixing that, and that means that everyone's default network key will have to change.

    6. #25
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky V1 firmware update server now up!

      James,
      Can you set the router NOT to check for an update -
      even if Sky try to force it?

    7. #26
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sky V1 firmware update server now up!

      Well, yes, you can do it by doing this: enable telnet access using the Mognuts Utility, telnet into the router, type ps to get a list of running processes on the router, find the process ID (PID) of the provisioning_ap process, and then type the command
      Code:
      kill PID
      where PID is the process ID of the provisioning_ap process.

      The PID is the number in the first column of the output from the ps command, by the way.

      I'm sure that just as Sky have the ability to limit which V1 routers are allowed to upgrade, they can also easily monitor which routers have requested an upgrade. I'm pretty sure that Sky will be alerted to the fact that a router that is currently in use, isn't actually requesting the upgrade firmware. I've no way of knowing how Sky will respond to that. They may ignore it, or they may suspect your access.

    8. #27
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky V1 firmware update server now up!

      Thanks.
      I assume I can reverse this if at some time I do want to upgrade?


      _______________________
      I believe in
      The triumph of experience over hope
      not
      The triumph of hope over experience.
      I've only been divorced once.

    9. #28
      kimc's Avatar
      kimc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pontefract
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      257
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky V1 firmware update server now up!

      Quote Originally Posted by m8nz View Post
      update did not happen, my router is still on firmware V1.02.28.
      Mine says
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB018e.d16f

      What does this mean?
      *****************
      *****************


      Kims Design

    10. #29
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sky V1 firmware update server now up!

      Quote Originally Posted by murdock View Post
      Thanks.
      I assume I can reverse this if at some time I do want to upgrade?
      You can simply reboot the router and the router upgrade program will start again.

    11. #30
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sky V1 firmware update server now up!

      Quote Originally Posted by kimc View Post
      Mine says
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB018e.d16f

      What does this mean?
      There's various different pieces of software running on your router. There's code to drive the wireless network interface, another piece of code that generates the web pages that you access at http://192.168.0.1/ and so on. That particular version number refers to the specific piece of code that makes the ADSL interface work.

      For convenience, however, we normally just refer to the overall version number, which is shown as the Router Version number on the main router info page.

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION