Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Major Problemo with Connection!!! HELP!!!

    This is a discussion on Major Problemo with Connection!!! HELP!!! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi Everyone, I've been looking through the forum for 3 months now but have just recently joined. I've been looking ...

    1. #1
      RooFuss's Avatar
      RooFuss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: glasgow west
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Major Problemo with Connection!!! HELP!!!

      Hi Everyone,

      I've been looking through the forum for 3 months now but have just recently joined. I've been looking for technical help on my Sky BB Max connection. but i cant seem to get a solution..... anyones help here would be hugely appreciated.

      Here's the story....

      I've had sky broadband max since late September and ever since I've had it the connection keeps on dropping out. BUT i can still use msn messenger and download via torrents but i can't browse the internet at all using any type of browser (i've tried firefox, safari, internet explorer). I can browse for 30 mins to 2hrs before it stops and i get the "not connected message" it varies depending on the time and day. I then unplug and replug the router and the connection starts up again, but drops out after 30mins to 2 hrs Even when i'm browsing the speed doesn't seem that fast.

      I've been on the phone to sky so many times i'm beginning to give up.
      Around 2 weeks ago they said they had fixed the problem, the connection worked for 5 hrs then dropped out again.

      I turned the uPnP off, as this seemed to work for other people, but not for me.

      There are 3 pc laptops and 1 macbook connected all wireless, and connecting via the ethernet cable doesnt seem to make a difference.

      Here are my router stats:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 574 Kbps, Downstream rate = 11263 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.7 19.0
      Attn(dB): 32.0 17.7
      Pwr(dBm): 896.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 12784 676
      Rate (Kbps): 11263 574
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 18
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 89 68
      B: 238 17
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.6761 7.5739
      L: 3017 169
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 259800 259798
      SFErr: 12 1
      RS: 24681086 2208283
      RSCorr: 67339 620756992
      RSUnCorr: 343 0

      HEC: 12 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 110836387 5632828
      Data Cells: 32895 26578
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 4 1
      SES: 1 0
      UAS: 14 15
      Total time = 1 hours 9 min 52 sec
      SF = 259800
      CRC = 12
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 9 min 52 sec
      SF = 259800
      CRC = 12
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      Latest 15 minutes time = 9 min 52 sec
      SF = 36856
      CRC = 10
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56032
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56094
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56032
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 54786
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


      Here is my router status:

      Router Status

      Account Name
      Firmware Version V1.02.28

      ADSL Port
      MAC Address 00:1B:2F:93:8C:1F
      IP Address 90.192.215.43
      Network Type PPPoA
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255
      Gateway IP Address 82.108.11.8
      Domain Name Server 90.207.238.97
      87.86.189.16

      LAN Port
      MAC Address 00:1B:2F:93:8C:1E
      IP Address 192.168.0.1
      DHCP On
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB018e.d16f
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 11263 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 574 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      Wireless Port
      Name (SSID) SKY29316
      Region Europe
      Channel 11
      Wireless AP Enabled
      Broadcast Name Enabled


      my router statistics from the 192.168.0.1 site


      System Up Time 01:24:53
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 7591 7033 0 403 618 01:23:28
      LAN 10M/100M 729 0 0 33 0 01:24:51
      WLAN 11M/54M 9353 15296 0 732 508 01:24:41

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 11263 kbps 574 kbps
      Line Attenuation 32.0 db 17.7 db
      Noise Margin 12.6 db 19.0 db


      Can anyone help?

      thanks

      Rufus
      Last edited by RooFuss; 02-12-07 at 11:35 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PeteBest's Avatar
      PeteBest is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Major Problemo with Connection!!! HELP!!!

      If you can still download torrents and use MSN that looks like a DNS lookup problem, where it cant resolve the domain names to IP addresses.

      I've found the standard easynet one to be slow/unresponsive at times, so I personally use OpenDNS it's free to use, and you can either configure each PC to use it, or add them to the router configuration pages. All the information you need should be on the OpenDNS site, I'd recommend trying this before you go any further with debugging you connection.

      Best of luck!

    4. #3
      RooFuss's Avatar
      RooFuss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: glasgow west
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Major Problemo with Connection!!! HELP!!!

      O.k. Just going to give that a try...

      i find it really strange as i can browse no problems for the first 30 mins or so then i cant browse after that.

      If its a DNS problem why does it work for the first 30 mins then not at all after that? the DNS thing is new to me, so i'm just learning....

      thanks for the advice..

      RooFuss
      Last edited by RooFuss; 03-12-07 at 08:41 PM.

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Major Problemo with Connection!!! HELP!!!

      SNR (dB): 11.7 19.0
      Attn(dB): 32.0 17.7
      Pwr(dBm): 896.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 12784 676
      Rate (Kbps): 11263 574
      with your attn i would have thought your upload should be around 768, where as you max sync upload is only 676, this could have been done when/if sky capped you. do you use an extention lead to connect router to socket ? have you tried a comparison from the "test" socket (behind face plate of master socket)

    6. #5
      RooFuss's Avatar
      RooFuss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: glasgow west
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Major Problemo with Connection!!! HELP!!!

      no extention lead, i'm using the cables sky provided, but this is the only socket in the flat, all the other sockets have been disconnected. When i had Sky installed by the engineer he tested the socket (as i wasnt sure if it had been reconected by BT at that point) and he said it was fine... but i will try a comparison

      i've changed the DNS on my macbook and it seems to have made a difference, but no joy for the laptop pc's which are connected (although the connection doesnt seem to be running as if it were a 8Mb - 16Mb connection like Sky promise on the MAX package, i've just done a speed test and i'm getting 657Mb download and 482Mb upload - is this what it should be????)

    7. #6
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Major Problemo with Connection!!! HELP!!!

      if you are running XP have a look at the last link in my sig (optimizing your PC) and see if the program helps (will not do much for Vista, as vista is pretty much up with the setting already)

      (also check out the cabling and face plate thread, you may be able to get rid of the "ring wire, but have a good read before you do)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION