Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    New Member Concerns

    This is a discussion on New Member Concerns within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi All, New Member signed up today about 3 hours after I signed up with Sky. Due to get my ...

    1. #1
      jamesm's Avatar
      jamesm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Member Concerns

      Hi All,

      New Member signed up today about 3 hours after I signed up with Sky. Due to get my MAC code from BT Internet on Monday. Have to say I am now a little worried and wished I'd read this site first.

      Anyway, I'm sure there must be some positive experiences. My main concerns/expectations are:-

      1.) I already have a Netgear DG834GT hooked up to one PC (Ethernet) direct and and Ethernet hub connected to an XBOX and 2 other PC's. It is wirelessly connected to a couple of Laptops and a Nintendo DS. I was naturally hoping to retain my existing DG834GT and just re-configure it to Sky - is this not possible?

      2.) I have BT 8mb - and am hoping to improve to 16mb as I have taken the MAX package and been told by Sky that my line will run at 16mb as the local exchange is capable of 17.2mb. I said yeah yeah but they were adamant I would get 16mb - is this really likely?

      3.) What does LLU unbundled etc actually mean?

      4.) Is this delay everyone talks of universal - dont think I (let alone the kids) will cope with several days of downtime?

      5.) I rarely have to reboot my DG834GT, in fact I reckon once during the last 6 months. Although I did flash upgrade my DG834GT as soon as I purchased it. Does everyone really have to reboot frequently?

      Sorry, a load of questions but reading through the posts I've got worried I may have made a mistake leaving BT.

      Cheers

      James


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by jamesm View Post
      1.) I already have a Netgear DG834GT hooked up to one PC (Ethernet) direct and and Ethernet hub connected to an XBOX and 2 other PC's. It is wirelessly connected to a couple of Laptops and a Nintendo DS. I was naturally hoping to retain my existing DG834GT and just re-configure it to Sky - is this not possible?
      It is not possible to use your existing router without braking Skt terms and conditions. If you search our router forum you will find further advice regarding this.
      Quote Originally Posted by jamesm View Post
      2.) I have BT 8mb - and am hoping to improve to 16mb as I have taken the MAX package and been told by Sky that my line will run at 16mb as the local exchange is capable of 17.2mb. I said yeah yeah but they were adamant I would get 16mb - is this really likely?
      If you post your current router stats we can help you with an approximation of your max speed.[/QUOTE]

      Quote Originally Posted by jamesm View Post
      3.) What does LLU unbundled etc actually mean?
      It means that the exchange is capable of supporting ADSL2+, currently the fastest connection available through your telephone connection

      Quote Originally Posted by jamesm View Post
      4.) Is this delay everyone talks of universal - dont think I (let alone the kids) will cope with several days of downtime?
      Several poster have experienced no delay, several have experienced extendended delays. It does seem fairly hit and miss at the moment, although the forum is far more likley to attract those with problems.

      Quote Originally Posted by jamesm View Post
      5.) I rarely have to reboot my DG834GT, in fact I reckon once during the last 6 months. Although I did flash upgrade my DG834GT as soon as I purchased it. Does everyone really have to reboot frequently?
      Please see above, some are stable some are not

      Quote Originally Posted by jamesm View Post
      Sorry, a load of questions but reading through the posts I've got worried I may have made a mistake leaving BT.

      Cheers

      James

      Apologies that there are few straight answers, but we are trying to give accurate information and can only judge on what we see here. Many posters have had good experiences myself included, but others have had real issues.

    4. #3
      jamesm's Avatar
      jamesm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wow, quick response, thank you hugsie

      On the face of it, I reckon it shouldnt be too tough to replicate my set up, just a bit laborious with all the port forwarding rules etc but probably best to stick to the T & C's I guess, just a little annoying when I've got a perfectly good and identical bit of kit here.

      I have copied my stats here, not sure I can make out how helpful they are myself and the format got knacked up copying and pasting.


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8128 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 13.0 db 8.0 db
      Noise Margin 14.2 db 22.0 db

      Good point about the posts here - I guess its rarer to post about good experiences. Just human nature. Great forum though - have now investigated the flash upgrade/reveal of username/password and will steer clear at least for 12 months I guess.

      Cheers

      James
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 16-09-06 at 12:39 AM. Reason: removed stats we don't need to see ;-)

    5. #4
      vishal's Avatar
      vishal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton Road (LWKROA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      NW London
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      hi, did you mean you have already gone through the order process with sky?

      if so didnt they need your mac to migrate from bt to sky? maybe i misunderstood the first post.

    6. #5
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      With an attenuation like that, you should indeed get a very good speed!

      I get 8 meg on 40.5db

      IT is always a best guess assuming perfect line and no interference, but try here: http://www.dslzoneuk.net/maxspeed2.php

    7. #6
      jamesm's Avatar
      jamesm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Yep - went thru the order process - now they want my mac - once I supply that (monday) they reckon 14 days from then!

    8. #7
      jamesm's Avatar
      jamesm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks again hugsie - good link - dont necessarily understand the attenuation/speed link but hey, the result bar chart suggested green to 16mb and went all the way up to 22mb - so here's hoping!

    9. #8
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Attenuation is basically the signal strength, It is the best indicator of your actual line length and quality.

    10. #9
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site James

      One thing you can do when you switch to the Sky router is backup your present routers configuration and the load it into the Sky router when you connect that as apart from the network settings in it they are the essentially the same.

      Good luck with you move
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION