Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 28

    New Router (Black one)

    This is a discussion on New Router (Black one) within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, I've just signed up to Sky Broadband from Pipex Homecall, let me say compared to Pipex Sky is 100000000 ...

    1. #1
      Niven770's Avatar
      Niven770 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Router (Black one)

      Hi,
      I've just signed up to Sky Broadband from Pipex Homecall, let me say compared to Pipex Sky is 100000000 times better. However i'm suffering with the "cannot connect 2 Xboxes problem". Both Xbox's can play on line but not in the same game - i.e. they can both play COD 4 on line at the same time but not within the same game. Both can join the game lobby but as soon as the match starts one gets "kicked". One has NAT open and the other is moderate (1st to start xbox is open). The one with moderate NAT gets kicked. I've tried everything, DMZ, port forwarding, opening all ports, upnp ! auto and manual etc but to no avail.

      Does anyone know how to extract the username & password from the new router and I'll get the belkin one (or one that's recomended).

      Any help appreciated.....
      Last edited by Niven770; 24-11-07 at 05:17 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router (Black one)

      At the moment i don't think there is a way to get the username and password from the new routers, but i could be wrong someone else may know otherwise.

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New Router (Black one)

      no way of doing as yet - but the Sky systems do record them on router first connection....although Sky won't tell you them
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router (Black one)

      yeah i just got a new router aswell the black one and it smuch faster in my opionion! also ive still got the old one...can i use the old one for my xbox and this one for my PC? is there nay problems in that?

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New Router (Black one)

      You can only use one router at a time, it would just be a case of plugging one in after doing what you were doing on the other, if that makes sense.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router (Black one)

      what! for real? damn so that means when im on XBL i cant be on the internet? (i cant use wireless to connect to my PC becuase my xbox is out of range) Also with this new black sagem one my line attentuation has increased to 20db when it was 15db previously? what the hell?

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Router (Black one)

      yeah i just got a new router aswell the black one and it smuch faster in my opionion!
      my line attentuation has increased to 20db when it was 15db previously? what the hell?
      If your first statement is correct, what are you complaining about?

      If your Xbox is out of range you can buy a wireless extender, or even use a Home plug network system. Do you know anyone who can connect two routers to the same line at the same time?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router (Black one)

      ahh ok and no i guess the two routers are the same on my netgear how ever my line attenuation is 17db and my downstream 15163kb/s but on my sagem its 20db downstream 1100??

    10. #9
      wakka's Avatar
      wakka is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Morley, Leeds
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Re: New Router (Black one)

      Hi,

      I've just received a new black router as a replacement for the v1 white one but i've noticed a massive drop in my speeds and i can't see any obvious reason for it.

      I was getting around 6/ 6.5mbs download speeds on the old white router (and my own US robotics router) and around 350kbs upload speeds. Since i've had the new router, my speeds have dropped to anything between 1 to 1.7mbs download and a struggling 55kbs upload. I thought the new router might need some time to bed in but it's been on solidly for three days now with no improvement. Seems a coincidence that it happened when i plugged the new router in and i'd like to avoid a drawn out telephone call with sky if i can - anyone had the same problem and any ideas??

      Ta

    11. #10
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: New Router (Black one)

      Quote Originally Posted by wakka View Post

      i've noticed a massive drop in my speeds and i can't see any obvious reason for it.
      Wireless or wired?

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION