Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 28 of 28

    New Router (Black one)

    This is a discussion on New Router (Black one) within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Originally Posted by touran22 it used to be 15db like 1 month ago? Originally Posted by Saturday sure this wasn't ...

    1. #21
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,085
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: New Router (Black one)

      Quote Originally Posted by touran22 View Post
      it used to be 15db like 1 month ago?
      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      sure this wasn't 15.5db? This is a known router reporting "bug" in the original Sky netgear firmware and isn't the true attenuation.
      As I said . . . . . . . .


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router (Black one)

      lol yeah ok sorry mate i must of missed that one! well i think ill have to live with this bug becuase the damn sagem one has locked my downstream to 11000kbps if i continue to use the netgear will the downstream also go down to 11000kbps? right now its on 15325kbps which is what it was when my attenuation used to be 15.5db. (using netgear)

    4. #23
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,085
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: New Router (Black one)

      No idea why the Sagem would be giving you 11000kbps and the Netgear V1 giving you 15325kbps. Maybe the Sagem is faulty and is somehow locked to G.DMT in the firmware - 11000kbps is the top speed for G.DMT with an attenuation as low as yours.

      Stick with the Netgear. No, I can't see any reason why it too would drop to 11000kbps

      How come you have a new router if your old one is working perfectly OK?

    5. #24
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router (Black one)

      the netgear is v3 i think? and also this damn netgear keeps turning off and now the damn sagem is stuck at 11000kbps downstream? im stuck in the middle! saturday do u have a the sagem one?

    6. #25
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,085
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: New Router (Black one)

      There is no Sky Netgear V3. If it is white then it is a V1.

      What do you mean by turning off? Have you turned off UPnP? If not then do that in the router configuration page of the V1 (not the Sagem).

      In the next few weeks we're expecting the new firmware for the Netgear V1 to be available. That should be far better than the current V1 firmware (more stable, fixed UPnP etc).

      If you're really determined then all I can suggest is to call Sky and get through to T3 and ask them if they can see whether the Sagem is syncing G.DMT - or any other problem they can see with it. Don't bother trying to discuss this with T1 as you'll be wasting your time.

      No I don't have a Sagem, just a Netgear V1.

      Is being "stuck" at 11meg really that much of a problem? That's a very fast connection.
      Last edited by Saturday; 30-11-07 at 09:41 PM.

    7. #26
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router (Black one)

      well i really want my full 16mb! 11mb just doesn seem as fast any more but ill try and call T3 if i can!

    8. #27
      wakka's Avatar
      wakka is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Morley, Leeds
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: New Router (Black one)

      Hmmm, seem to have got off my topic somewhat but there you go.

      I seem to have resolved my speed problem more by luck than anything i.e. I forgot to follow rule No1 - Turn off the router and unplug it for a few minutes. I did that and now i'm back to over a steady 6mbs download and 350kbs (ish) upload speeds. Wireless is still causing problems but i'll tackle that seperately.

      Have to say that the new black V2 router seems far more stable and reliable that the old white V1 one and, as posted elsewhere, it doesn't heat up that much and you don't appear to need the stand - my wireless signal is better with it flat.

      As always with Sky, when it works it's great, when it doesn't, then.. you all know what i mean!

    9. #28
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,891
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: New Router (Black one)

      Hmmm, seem to have got off my topic somewhat but there you go.
      I think it is only fair to say that it never really was 'your topic'. It started out by the OP asking about a username and password and was then hijacked, a common occurrence in the Forum.

      It's good to hear that the new router is performing well, maybe when we get the elusive update for the V1, it will be the same.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION