Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 28

    New Router (Black one)

    This is a discussion on New Router (Black one) within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Wireless (netgear WG111T) and that's suffering disconections but that's for another thread i guess....

    1. #11
      wakka's Avatar
      wakka is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Morley, Leeds
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Re: New Router (Black one)

      Wireless (netgear WG111T) and that's suffering disconections but that's for another thread i guess.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: New Router (Black one)

      Then a poor wireless quality signal is very likely the problem. Try experimenting with different channel numbers and/or changing the router position a little.

    4. #13
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router (Black one)

      saturday what about my dilema? im wired and my attenuation is increasing with the new one but with my old its still normal? whats the problem?

    5. #14
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: New Router (Black one)

      Each model and make of router can and will measure attenuation differently (there's no industry standard), so you can't compare one with the other.

      With regard to the downstream figures, did you type them correctly? The Sagem is only connecting at 1100kbps?

      As noise margin will change quite markedly through an evening, if you want to compare sync speeds you need to connect them both within a couple of minutes of each other.

    6. #15
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router (Black one)

      hmmm this is strange. now my netgear is reporting that my attentuation has increased to 20db? whats wrong with this it used to be 15db like 1 month ago? however on my netgear its still 15326kbps downstream . can i controll my attenuation myself so like can i set it to 17db manually? do i need to flash a custom Fw onto my router? (<- im talking baout my netgear here as i know u cant on the new one yet.)

    7. #16
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: New Router (Black one)

      No you can't "control" your attenuation as it is largely a measure of your line length. All you can do is improve your wiring as bad wiring can add a couple of db (at the most).

      With regard to your earlier 15db attenuation, sure this wasn't 15.5db? This is a known router reporting "bug" in the original Sky netgear firmware and isn't the true attenuation. It has no impact on your connection though.

      You didn't answer my question about whether you'd mistyped the Sagem sync. Assuming you did, my advice is to just plug it in and enjoy the connection. With the new router firmware and the new DSLAM firmware, it really should be pretty well tuned to the Sky network and I doubt you'd get improved performance from an alternative router.
      Last edited by Saturday; 30-11-07 at 05:47 PM.

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Router (Black one)

      I think you may have had the 15db router bug, 2 months ago this was your sync.
      SNR (dB): 12.1 12.5
      Attn(dB): 18.5 11.0
      Pwr(dBm): 896.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 18328 864
      Rate (Kbps): 15323 76
      Not much different from what you have now. I don't think you can change your attenuation by changing settings, only your SNR.

      Getting the speeds you do, you must really get up peoples' noses that struggle to get 2 or 3 mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router (Black one)

      hmm im pretty sure my attenuation was below 17db a month ago! and when i plug in my new sagem one it does indeed report 11000kbps downstream. this affects my downloading becuase now i only get 1100kb/s max btw how did u get thoese stats?)

    10. #19
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: New Router (Black one)

      Quote Originally Posted by touran22 View Post
      hmm im pretty sure my attenuation was below 17db a month ago!
      I think you'll find 15.5db is below 17db.

      Quote Originally Posted by touran22 View Post
      ( btw how did u get thoese stats?)
      By looking at an earlier post of yours here?


      Touran22, no offence intended but please at least read the responses you've been given.

    11. #20
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router (Black one)

      i do look at them! but isitme showed my stats 2 months ago and my attenuation was 18.5db and i said in reply to that statistic that my attenuation was below 17.5db.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION