Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    1 out of 4 Ethernet Ports Work!

    This is a discussion on 1 out of 4 Ethernet Ports Work! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Well, Here is the story, I leave the router on 24/7, When on holiday in the summer (July~September) something must ...

    1. #1
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      1 out of 4 Ethernet Ports Work!

      Well, Here is the story,

      I leave the router on 24/7, When on holiday in the summer (July~September) something must of happened to the router and only 3 of the remaining ethernet ports were working, Which wasnt a problem at the time, As only the PC, Printer and Network Drives need to be plugged in constantly, So one port down didnt matter.

      Now, Sunday, Out of those remaining three ports, Only 2 worked, Another port down.
      I thought this might have been down to a firmware update on the Network Drive that could have messed with it. Again, This wasnt too much of a hassle, I removed it from the Sky router and plugged it in to the standalone router. Then today, I went to print out a few things and Windows wasnt finding the printer, I rebooted it, Still nothing, Then after checking the printer IP settings, It wasnt getting an IP, Then after plugging it into the one remaining port, It worked, Which was a bit of a nuisance as then the PC wasnt connected....

      After giving up, Rebooting, Resetting, Got my dad to call Sky, I dont know what department he spoke to, My guess it was General CS, Who advised him that there was nothing they could do as the internet was still working, Who advised we speak to Netgear, They even gave us the number!

      Rang Netgear who say as its a Branded Model, With Sky firmware, Only they can help, After ringing Sky again, This time, The answer was to reload the Sky Firmware, Which I cant, As I only have access to 3 Machines that can run the upgrader, But run Vista and give the jumbled screen error!

      Then, After another longwinded call to Sky CS, We were presented with the "Sorry, We cant help" responce and that the only thing they could do, Was direct us to Tier3, Which I know for sure cant help with the ROUTER issue!

      After asking for a replacement router (Which they were more then happy to do when it broke down last time) the agent responded that because we already had received three (yes, three) replacement routers already, She would need to ask a senior agent, Before she could authorise it, Ok, Seems fair, But how long will this take..

      So a few questions;
      a) Has anyone had anything similar to the problem I am having?
      b) Anyone outside of their 12 Month Agreement, Finding it alot more difficult now to recieve Replacement Routers ect?


      Thanks!

      -Fibre!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: 1 out of 4 Ethernet Ports Work!

      This isn't a firmware issue, it's definitely a hardware issue. The router has a 5-port Ethernet switch DSP chip - four of which come out as ports on the back of the router, the fifth being connected to the ADSL microcontroller. Even if the microcontroller crashes, the router will carry on acting as an Ethernet switch.

      Have you had this kind of problem with previous routers? If you have, that would indicate something systematic happening in the way you use the router. I wonder if you have a badly-crimped Ethernet cable. A badly-crimped RJ45 plug can easily wreck an RJ45 socket by pushing the contacts in the socket back too far. Of course, you don't realise when it's happened, but if you then try to plug a properly crimped plug into the router, the port doesn't seem to work any more.

      The copper contacts on an RJ45 plug should be at least about 0.5mm below the surrounding plastic. If those contacts stand above the surrounding plastic, then you've got a socket wrecker.

    4. #3
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: 1 out of 4 Ethernet Ports Work!

      Thanks for ^^ James.

      Previous problems were totally different, The first was when the router fell from a shelf and the wireless aerial got loose and wouldnt hold into place. The second was that the router was commonly overheating even on its feets and the replacement was sent out.

      I dont think it is a hardware fault on the Printer/Drive side, Cause, We have an exactly identical Network Drive and Printer connected to the standalone router, Of which hasnt had any problems.

      I dont know if the cables are badly crimped, But they are the default that have been supplied with the devices, Again, I am using the same standard ones with the other devices downstairs.

    5. #4
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: 1 out of 4 Ethernet Ports Work!

      It should be easy to check the router to make sure the little copper "fingers" are standing proud within the socket. They should look like this:



      If those copper "fingers" are folded back against the wall of the socket, then that would indicate a badly crimped RJ45 plug has been used in that socket.

    6. #5
      bjproc's Avatar
      bjproc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Forfar
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: 1 out of 4 Ethernet Ports Work!

      my first router's port 1 worked intermitantly, port 2 didn't work at all, port 3 worked, i phoned up tech support and the woman said as long as port 3 works that should be ok.


      eh, i don't think so, after a small discussion & put through to anothe department i got another router sent out

    7. #6
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: 1 out of 4 Ethernet Ports Work!

      Update;

      Still no Call Back from Sky.

      James, I have checked the pins on the router and they are all fine.

      Still no email from the KANA Messenger on the Sky website, Did get an email of confirmation dated 21st, Does anyone know how long on average it takes to get a message back, As im considering giving Sky a call again, See what is happening, But I dont want to mess anything up, Especially if another router is already out or something and that ringing up will mess up orders?

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: 1 out of 4 Ethernet Ports Work!

      IF you're out of warranty then its a pain in the **** to replace a router - it has to be passed to a team leader who adds it to a spreadsheet. this sheet is then processed and new router is issued. NO idea how long it takes though - sorry
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: 1 out of 4 Ethernet Ports Work!

      Thanks IAmNotTheEnemy.

      I would understand the delay if we didnt have warrantly, But we do, As the £15pm covers all of our Sky Equiptment.

      We have recieved an email today back from the Kana Messenger,

      Thank you for contacting Sky Broadband Technical Support.

      please can you call us to so that we are able to determine exactly what is wrong with the Broadband Box we will need to perform some tests.

      I trust this helps however should yo u continue to experience technical difficulties, please reply to this email or call us on 08705 515 515. Lines are open 24 hours a day.

      As part of Sky’s commitment to continual improvement, please take a few moments to complete a short confidential questionnaire. This will provide us with feedback on the Technical Support we provide by email.
      Simply Click hereto start.



      Kind regards

      Simon
      Sky Broadband Technical Support
      Sky
      http://www.sky.com
      Tbh, Is it really worth the wait contacting Sky again? As if all were going to get told is to hold on, Then really its not fair.

    10. #9
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: 1 out of 4 Ethernet Ports Work!

      Update :

      Gave in and we called Sky, Got a nice guy called Gary in Technical Support. At first, He thought he wouldnt be able to assist us as it wasnt a problem relating to the actual broadband service after a moment speaking to his supervisor he found out he could.

      He did some more diagnostics,
      Like'
      1. Check ports again
      2. Test master socket - Which I said I did, But I didnt as its a waste of time
      3. Try another set of ethernet cables...

      Then he said "Uhmm.. Strange!..." after I told him about our previous communication, He checked some logs, I think he was on about that Spreadsheet you mentioned IAmNotTheEnemy.

      Anyways, He come back saying that it had been authorised (replacement router) and the order needed to be completed, Which he did and hopefully we should recieve the router by next Monday!

    11. #10
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: 1 out of 4 Ethernet Ports Work!

      Well, Its only Thursday and we have recieved our replacement router.

      It is the Sagem, Will be testing it out seeing if this messes up with the printer and drive.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION