Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 25

    The Replacement Has Arrived.

    This is a discussion on The Replacement Has Arrived. within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; whatever the defaults were - i just plugged it in and connected...

    1. #11
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      whatever the defaults were - i just plugged it in and connected


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Real sorry to see that happen again dingdong
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #13
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      K try disabling the upnp see if that stops the problem.

      friendly warning with regards to the wireless cards etc you are using, they are not supported and as such if they do not work am surprised they replaced the router.

      perhaps before asking for a new router you try ordering one the wireless wg111t from them for 20 and see if its the cards that are the problem, as alot of them are causing problems just a thought

    5. #14
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I have a couple of belkin PCI cards as well, i'll try them instead.

      I never saw or read anthing about you must use their wirless usb adaptors or you must use netgear cards - where was that?

      Anyway what sort of router is it that will only connect to their own wireless cards or adaptors.

      I don't think it would change anything anyway as it didn't for annie - she used the netgear ones from sky and still had this problem?

      Illl try the UPnP disable tomorrow and see how that goes - just can't be bothered to swap router around again at the moment.
      Last edited by dingdong; 15-09-06 at 07:00 PM.

    6. #15
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      No im not saying you have to use there cars, but there not supporting anything other than the supplied wireless ones so therefore if you phone and say my router doesnt work with these ones etc, they will not support it unless you cant get it working over ethernet.

      you can use any card u want but it may not work, dont install the belkin software for the love of god lol, use the windows built in.

      just my 2p m8

      Have u tried getting them to work with wep or wpa?

    7. #16
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      OK i've disabled UPnP - i'll see how that goes.

    8. #17
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      OK disabling UPnP stopped the freeze. However, after being connected for about 20 mins my speed kept dropping by about 0.5 MB every 2 mins until finally it just gave up.

      I am now on my own router and will continue to use it until sky get this mess fixed or they cancel my contract for breach of their t&cs.

      The only thing i'm intersted in now is any new firmware release. My setup is pretty standard - sky must be having a LOT of problems with this.

      Thanks for all the suggestions - none of them worked unfortunately (with the exception of the password reveal without which i would have left sky on day 1)

    9. #18
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I cant say as I blame you I would do the same if mine was doing the same thing as yours.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    10. #19
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      my shiney new Netgear routers are being used as a matching pair of bookends

    11. #20
      stevem's Avatar
      stevem is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSCHES
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kingston ( that's Surrey, not Jamaica )
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      At least someone's found a use for them

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION