Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Can I switch off radio on my router

    This is a discussion on Can I switch off radio on my router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I just want to use my Sky Netgear router in a "hard-wired" mode - so that no wireless signal gets ...

    1. #1
      mainsail's Avatar
      mainsail is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 029
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can I switch off radio on my router

      I just want to use my Sky Netgear router in a "hard-wired" mode - so that no wireless signal gets broadcast - in or out.
      Anyone know how to do that?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Can I switch off radio on my router

      Go to the router configuration pages at http://192.168.0.1/ and select the Wireless Settings link at the top of the left-hand panel. Then untick the "Enable Wireless Access Point" option and click on the Apply button at the page.

    4. #3
      mainsail's Avatar
      mainsail is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 029
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I switch off radio on my router

      James - thanks so much for that info. So quick too! Most grateful

      EDIT - Now though it's asking for a username and password for the router. I've for the SSID and the Network Key but those don't seem to be it?
      Last edited by mainsail; 17-11-07 at 12:18 PM.

    5. #4
      tomochevski's Avatar
      tomochevski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tile Hill
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      Coventry
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I switch off radio on my router

      User name :Admin
      Password: Sky

      Hope this helps

    6. #5
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Can I switch off radio on my router

      Ah, to access the configuration pages for the router, you need to use the username admin and password sky, assuming you haven't changed the password.

      Edit: got beaten to it! lol

    7. #6
      mainsail's Avatar
      mainsail is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 029
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I switch off radio on my router

      Hi James and tomochevski

      Thanks again for your prompt and expert help, My routier is now working fine - and the radio is off - just what I wanted! Thanks

      Mainsail

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION