Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Sky says this is the fastest i can go

    This is a discussion on Sky says this is the fastest i can go within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; After originally having a connection of 7800kbps i suddenly find myself capped at the below figures. Sky says my line ...

    1. #1
      tomochevski's Avatar
      tomochevski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tile Hill
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      Coventry
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky says this is the fastest i can go

      After originally having a connection of 7800kbps i suddenly find myself capped at the below figures. Sky says my line will not handle and faster speeds although when i was connected at 7,800kbps all was fine. Any information regarding figures would be greatly appreciated.


      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 640 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5504 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 17.3 13.0
      Attn(dB): 35.0 23.0
      Pwr(dBm): 17.3 2.9
      Max(Kbps): 8096 1088
      Rate (Kbps): 5504 640
      G.dmt framing
      K: 173(0) 21
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 173 21
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0919 8.7272
      L: 1392 176
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 47107 47105
      SFErr: 0 8
      RS: 3203284 400392
      RSCorr: 3 24
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 4
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 10399503 0
      Data Cells: 597 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 20 0
      Total time = 13 min 49 sec
      SF = 47107
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 13 min 49 sec
      SF = 47107
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 13 min 49 sec
      SF = 47107
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      fill0000's Avatar
      fill0000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky says this is the fastest i can go

      Well, i used to get off my line about 9,000, then its 5-6,000 and they said it was my line too, you know what it is really? either a fight for bandwidth in your area or an artifical cap.

    4. #3
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky says this is the fastest i can go

      OP sky have capped you, did you at any time phone sky to complain about connection problems? if so they would have capped your speed to make the connection more stable

      plug the router into the test socket (behind master face plate) and re-post
      you will need to leave the router running for about a day to get an idear if errors are your problem

    5. #4
      tomochevski's Avatar
      tomochevski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tile Hill
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      Coventry
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky says this is the fastest i can go

      No i only phoned when it dropped to the speed it is now. It was originally set by T3 at 7800kbps then just went down on its own.

    6. #5
      Chris_H's Avatar
      Chris_H is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01273
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky says this is the fastest i can go

      I was capped at 6880 down and 288 up after I had a stale session cleared. My stats were/are worse than yours, however, after I emailed support, a T3 guy phoned me and happily removed the cap. I now sync at 8096/416 again. Maybe worth an email to Broadband.CustomerService@bskyb.com.

    7. #6
      tomochevski's Avatar
      tomochevski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tile Hill
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      Coventry
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky says this is the fastest i can go

      I have now managed to have my cap removed and put onto ADSL2+ after much frustration. I now sync at 8405kbps. Thanks to everyone on here for the advice it was much appreciated.


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION