Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    UPNP Broken

    This is a discussion on UPNP Broken within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Well, my rock steady connection is less than rock steady now! With uPnP on, after just about exactly 15 mins, ...

    1. #1
      richard_jerome's Avatar
      richard_jerome is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      UPNP Broken

      Well, my rock steady connection is less than rock steady now!

      With uPnP on, after just about exactly 15 mins, you can't browse the web with internet explorer - not even to the router admin page. All other traffic is still fine, email/p2p/ftp etc. Reboot is required every 15 mins :-(

      With uPnP off it's fine. I suspect an interaction issue with XP+SP2 (no other patches).

      Anyone else got the same issue?

      /Rich


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      stevem's Avatar
      stevem is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSCHES
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kingston ( that's Surrey, not Jamaica )
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Interesting. I took more drastic action, however I'll plug the netgear back in this evening and check..


      Steve

    4. #3
      richard_jerome's Avatar
      richard_jerome is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by richard_jerome View Post
      Well, my rock steady connection is less than rock steady now!

      With uPnP on, after just about exactly 15 mins, you can't browse the web with internet explorer - not even to the router admin page. All other traffic is still fine, email/p2p/ftp etc. Reboot is required every 15 mins :-(

      With uPnP off it's fine. I suspect an interaction issue with XP+SP2 (no other patches).

      Anyone else got the same issue?

      /Rich
      Ok...

      Sky firmware 1.02.28 / A2pB018e.d16f
      - upnp on
      - after 15 mins, http traffic can't be passed, 192.68.0.1 page unreachable

      Netgear firmware 1.02.04 / A2pB018e.d16f
      - upnp on
      - after 15 mins, http traffic CAN be passed, 192.168.0.1 page unreachable

      Given up now, but I bet Netgear 1.01.28 is the same as Sky's 1.02.28.

      Oh, and once you've change LAN IP address reservations it won't let you restore a .cfg backup. It really is poo :-)

      Argh,
      Rich
      Last edited by richard_jerome; 15-09-06 at 01:23 PM.

    5. #4
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      RE: It really is poo :-)


      I'd go along with that - i'm beginning to hate this router more and more as each day passes

    6. #5
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      To be honest I hate netgear and always have, had 3 rp614 cable versions they all fried themselves to death.

      now using a top of draytek for last year and its amazing, bandwitch throttling and everything

    7. #6
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by richard_jerome View Post
      Well, my rock steady connection is less than rock steady now!

      With uPnP on, after just about exactly 15 mins, you can't browse the web with internet explorer - not even to the router admin page. All other traffic is still fine, email/p2p/ftp etc. Reboot is required every 15 mins :-(

      With uPnP off it's fine. I suspect an interaction issue with XP+SP2 (no other patches).

      Anyone else got the same issue?

      /Rich

      I think you may have hit the nail on the head with this one. I seem to have exceeded my 10 min session time with it turned-off - indeed UPnP is broken with XP SP2 (all additional patches)

    8. #7
      stevvie's Avatar
      stevvie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey (SMBA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      has anybody got UPNP to work on this router for longer than 10-15 minutes? As my last router had NO problems keeping UPNP alive for days/weeks at a time. And this one UPNP seems to die after about 15minutes of rebooting the router.

    9. #8
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Some say they have it on and all is ok. I am trying to establish what is the difference between machines where it works and ones where it doesn't

      Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix

      I'm an exe Nilrdam as well - my speed has not gone up as much, but it is an improvement (about 300k) and more consistent.

    10. #9
      adski79's Avatar
      adski79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by theg33k View Post
      To be honest I hate netgear and always have, had 3 rp614 cable versions they all fried themselves to death.

      now using a top of draytek for last year and its amazing, bandwitch throttling and everything
      I have tried to connect my Draytek 2800G but the connection speeds are about 3mb less than with the Netgear, I'd love to get my Draytek back, any ideas?

    11. #10
      stevvie's Avatar
      stevvie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey (SMBA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Probebly down to SNR and Line Attenuation as with my old cheapo safecom router the SNR reads 8.6 and the Line Attenuation shows 35.7, but less than a minute latter with the netgear sky supplied the SNR is 7.1 and the Line Attenuation is a wapping 40.5. I then plug the safecom back in and I'm back to 8.5/35.9. So Not all routers are created equal. So the cheapo Safecom router gets a better connection as a result. This is using the SAME leads, all I did was unplug the leads at the back of the routers. check to see what the SNR/Line Attenuation are on both routers.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION