Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Netgear wireless drop out

    This is a discussion on Netgear wireless drop out within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello from a newbie to these forums.... I need some help. I have had my Sky now for a fair ...

    1. #1
      samwar's Avatar
      samwar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01256
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Netgear wireless drop out

      Hello from a newbie to these forums....

      I need some help. I have had my Sky now for a fair few months with no problem. I have the mid package although I can't get the full speed from it because I live quite a way from the exchange.

      Anyway my problem is this. Only three days ago, my laptop just stopped connecting to the Netgear wireless. I just get the message limited connectivity blah blah... I have checked all the settings on the netgear and everything seems fine. I have even done a reset, but to no avail.

      Can someone please help!?!



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear wireless drop out

      Assuming you haven't relocated either the router or the computer, could it be interference from a new wifi network nearby ? Use the wireless adapter's utilities' scan function and be prepared to change to the router's channel (ideally) 6 stops from the strongest competing signal.

      Also move cordless phone base, video sender, baby alarms etc away from computer or router.

    4. #3
      samwar's Avatar
      samwar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01256
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear wireless drop out

      Quote Originally Posted by fihart View Post
      Assuming you haven't relocated either the router or the computer, could it be interference from a new wifi network nearby ? Use the wireless adapter's utilities' scan function and be prepared to change to the router's channel (ideally) 6 stops from the strongest competing signal.

      Also move cordless phone base, video sender, baby alarms etc away from computer or router.
      I haven't moved or changed anything and the other wifi networks are still the same. It just stopped connecting and getting an IP address.

    5. #4
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear wireless drop out

      I think I'd still try changing channels -- and while you're at it check that the router hasn't reset itself and somehow switched on wireless isolation. Obviously you'll need to address the router via an ethernet cable -- see Sky CD help files or tutorials on this site.

    6. #5
      samwar's Avatar
      samwar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01256
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear wireless drop out

      Ok. Here's the latest. I am at home now and I can see that the wireless is constantly acquiring a network address but never seems to get one. I have two access points. The sky one on one channel and a linksys one on another channel, and it seems that I cannot connect on either! God this is so frustrating!!

    7. #6
      samwar's Avatar
      samwar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01256
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear wireless drop out

      Another update: It seems that I can connect sometimes for a few minutes and get given a IP address, but then I get the message this network has limited connectivity..

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Netgear wireless drop out

      I have two access points. The sky one on one channel and a linksys one on another channel
      Do you mean you have 2 routers plugged in at the same time? If you have, I am not surprised that you are having problems.

      Try disconnecting the Linksys and see if you can connect.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Netgear wireless drop out

      Quote Originally Posted by samwar View Post
      Another update: It seems that I can connect sometimes for a few minutes and get given a IP address, but then I get the message this network has limited connectivity..
      Make sure you've disabled the DHCP facility on the Linksys router. Only the Sky router will know how to route traffic onto the Internet, so if your PC is getting its IP address from the Linksys router, it won't be given the right information about how to get out onto the Internet.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION