Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    I have a noisy line and my connection drops out when i pick up the phone :(

    This is a discussion on I have a noisy line and my connection drops out when i pick up the phone :( within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Originally Posted by Saturday OK, one more time. Have you run the tests? There are only so many likely causes ...

    1. #11
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: I have a noisy line and my conncetion drops out when i pick up the phone :(

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      OK, one more time. Have you run the tests?

      There are only so many likely causes before it must be something very unusual. Disconnections can be caused by many things. Coincident with the phone ringing or being used is much more specific.

      If it's not a filter or how it's fitted then it's the phone. If it's neither of those then it's an exchange fault. 95% of the time it will be one of those three. After that you're looking at a strange line noise issue which I think would be more evident in your stats - which are pretty poor - not helped at all by that extension.
      Sorry mate yes i've run the test and all seem well. It still happens without the Sky box line and still happens with another filter and i tried a different phone (both are wired).

      And i'm going to get rid of the extension cable later this week and put the router right next to the master socket with the cable provided.

      Also this never happened with my previous ISP i had a 1MB connection BT voyager 105 ADSL modem and the same extension cable hooked up,


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: I have a noisy line and my conncetion drops out when i pick up the phone :(

      Quote Originally Posted by Monday View Post
      And i'm going to get rid of the extension cable later this week and put the router right next to the master socket with the cable provided.
      Sorry to butt in as your in capable hands but which is it ? Your earlier post suggests you have the router directly into a filter at the master socket, the above doesnt.


    4. #13
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: I have a noisy line and my conncetion drops out when i pick up the phone :(

      Quote Originally Posted by Monday View Post
      Ok heres my current setup

      I have the filter Plugged into the master filter - i dont have a test socket (house was made in 1939 ). The the ADSL line into the ADSL socket in the filter. I have the Sky box plugged into the phone socket then the phone plugged into the splitter on the sky box cable.

      What am i doing wrong?
      I am wondering if you are plugging a Sky installed extension cable into a filter in the master socket. This would not be a good idea.

      If so then try plugging the Sky installed extension cable directly into the master socket then filters into both ends of the extension - one for the phone and one for the Sky box. The router can then be tried in either filter.

      I was connected like that for months before I hard wired the Sky extension into an NTE5 and it worked OK (most of the time!)

    5. #14
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: I have a noisy line and my conncetion drops out when i pick up the phone :(

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      Sorry to butt in as your in capable hands but which is it ? Your earlier post suggests you have the router directly into a filter at the master socket, the above doesnt.
      One of those 3metere ADSL line cables.

    6. #15
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: I have a noisy line and my conncetion drops out when i pick up the phone :(

      You're making this very hard work.

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      do not connect with a extension lead or splitter.
      This was said for two reasons: one, to ensure you weren't connecting the phone to the unfiltered outlet on the microfilter, two, to eliminate the extension/splitter as a possible cause/contributor.

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I have a noisy line and my connection drops out when i pick up the phone :(

      Isnt that a bit like buying a computer from dell and dell expecting me not to use the windows update feature?
      Not at all! Windows updates are official, you have used what is really an unofficial unofficial update. The repetition is intentional as you are not even using the official Netgear upgrade, never mind that it is not the Sky firmware. A better analogy would be putting a Ford engine into a VW car and expect VW mechanics to fix it!

      I have just noticed that your profile says you are on Base. Are you on that or Mid. Base is free, Mid costs 5.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: I have a noisy line and my connection drops out when i pick up the phone :(

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Not at all! Windows updates are official, you have used what is really an unofficial unofficial update. The repetition is intentional as you are not even using the official Netgear upgrade, never mind that it is not the Sky firmware. A better analogy would be putting a Ford engine into a VW car and expect VW mechanics to fix it!

      I have just noticed that your profile says you are on Base. Are you on that or Mid. Base is free, Mid costs 5.
      I'm sorry i'm on Mid 8MB also thanks it doesnt do it now the sky box line trick worked !!

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I have a noisy line and my connection drops out when i pick up the phone :(

      the sky box line trick worked
      Do you mean your disconnect problem is fixed?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: I have a noisy line and my connection drops out when i pick up the phone :(

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Do you mean your disconnect problem is fixed?
      Sort of you see if i pick up the phone for say 5mintues the connection will drop out but in this 5minutes it will come back on and for some reason after this i can talk all i want and the connection wont drop out its weird i know but i can live with it.

    11. #20
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: I have a noisy line and my connection drops out when i pick up the phone :(

      Sorry to bump this but i just noticed a HUGE drop in speed with the sky box plugged into the mast socket i've decieded to unplug the sky box with it plugged in i get -2MB!! the engininer that installed my skybox put in a splitter with the skybox line directly wired into the splitter.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION