Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Advice RE Netgear Tools page

    This is a discussion on Advice RE Netgear Tools page within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hey guys, I used to sync around 2.6-2.7ish before I got the Sky router. With it, I'm syncing around 2080, ...

    1. #1
      lordmuggins's Avatar
      lordmuggins is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NINY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Advice RE Netgear Tools page

      Hey guys,

      I used to sync around 2.6-2.7ish before I got the Sky router. With it, I'm syncing around 2080, which would force me down to 1.5mb.

      However, with the netgear tool page, (URL injection?) it syncs around 3100, which means I could get a steady 2mb, or even 2.5 if it kept up over night.

      Now, my question is. We must have had a power cut last night, or the router rebooted.. but this morning it had synced down to 2080 again. This concerns me greatly, as it means if I don't notice, it'll effect the BRAS profile for the next X days (so stupid).

      Any ideas how I can make the change in the router permanent? It doesn't seem to be saving?


      Matt


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      lordmuggins's Avatar
      lordmuggins is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NINY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Advice RE Netgear Tools page

      Annnnnyone?

    4. #3
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Advice RE Netgear Tools page

      Assuming you're getting the router to sync faster by reducing the target noise margin, the answer is no, there is no way to make the change permanent, short of reflashing the router with customised software.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Advice RE Netgear Tools page

      I think the BRAS profile should now be updated in a matter of hours, rather than the 3-4 days it used to take. This piece from the Plusnet Comms teams gives a bit more info. As Sky Connect is basically, ADSLMax, it should be the same. However I don't know how Sky manage their side of it.

      I may be wrong, but if your connection is dropping it could be due to you artificially reducing the SNR. In other words, for the sake of a few extra Ks, you are causing your connection to drop even more than it would normally.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Advice RE Netgear Tools page

      ^^^ yup, that's my understanding too ^^^

      The only real nasty you get from all that BRAS stuff is if you always sync at the maximum speed and the BRAS profile starts off being wrong. Because the sync speed isn't changing each time you connect, the BRAS profile doesn't get updated.

      But if you sync at a different speed, the BRAS profile does normally track the speed change OK.

    7. #6
      has2bok's Avatar
      has2bok is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: lurgan
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Advice RE Netgear Tools page

      As far as I know there is no BRAS profile with SKY.
      You can download at your sync speed.


      Cheers.

    8. #7
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Advice RE Netgear Tools page

      Quote Originally Posted by has2bok View Post
      As far as I know there is no BRAS profile with SKY.
      You can download at your sync speed.


      Cheers.
      i think the OP is on connect (re branded bt connection)

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Advice RE Netgear Tools page

      But if you sync at a different speed, the BRAS profile does normally track the speed change OK.
      I think you gave instructions on how to force this James, but I can't remember which thread it is in. It might be useful if the OP finds himself stuck?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION