Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Rebooting router when drops connection

    This is a discussion on Rebooting router when drops connection within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; After 5 years of Virgins adsl service, I made the switch to Sky broadband two weeks ago and am now ...

    1. #1
      Connormp's Avatar
      Connormp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01926
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Kenilworth
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Rebooting router when drops connection

      After 5 years of Virgins adsl service, I made the switch to Sky broadband two weeks ago and am now dealing with my sky router dropping its connection - which it apears to do at more than daily intervals - never had this with my BT voyager 2100 router - this was on permanently and never lost its conection.

      When the router drops its connection, I cannot see the routers IP address to perform a software reboot. Whilst I try and resolve why the connection is dropping - clearly I am not alone!!, is there an easier method other than pulling the power lead out of the router and then rebooting the PC?

      Excellent forum by the way.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      debra999's Avatar
      debra999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01270
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rebooting router when drops connection

      ive been pulling the lead like you have. Damn pain. Id like to know if there another way also, so ill watch this thread

    4. #3
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Rebooting router when drops connection

      have a look at links in my sig and post your detailed stats, sounds like errors on the line, could you also confirm where you have plugged the router into (master socket or extension)

    5. #4
      Connormp's Avatar
      Connormp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01926
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Kenilworth
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rebooting router when drops connection

      Thanks Richone54 - I am still reading through the other posts on router stats.

      Whilst I go through these - eg I have now tried my BT voyager and yes this drops its connection! - why doesn't internet explorer see the router when the router has reconnected? - why do I have to reboot the PC as well?

      McAfee is appears to see the internet on the network map but I cannot open the router at its IP address or the internet ?

    6. #5
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Rebooting router when drops connection

      Whilst I go through these - eg I have now tried my BT voyager and yes this drops its connection! - why doesn't internet explorer see the router when the router has reconnected? - why do I have to reboot the PC as well?

      McAfee is appears to see the internet on the network map but I cannot open the router at its IP address or the internet ?
      In truth, i'm not sure
      i have the router in my fav folder, when i had disconnects i just clicked and it opened

      some one may be able to shed some light on it later

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Rebooting router when drops connection

      I know it is a pain but try uninstalling Macafee. It will not be causing your router's connection to the internet to drop, but it could be stopping you connecting to the router.

      I have IE7 set up with the router as the home page, so any time I want to enter it I just open IE7. This is the only thing I use it for.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION