Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Is my router faulty?

This is a discussion on Is my router faulty? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I've been putting up with this for a few months but its getting worse. First i get plenty of CRC ...

gadgesxi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Thanks

Is my router faulty?

I've been putting up with this for a few months but its getting worse.
      First i get plenty of CRC errors and although i have been through all the wiring tests internally, i think the CRC errors are between my house and exchange. To solve this i have to reboot the router when it gets slow, after reboot i get full speed again.

Secondly, after rebooting, alot of the time the laptop cannot see a wireless connection. Last night i rebooted and the laptop could see other wireless networks in my area except mine. I checked my router and the wireless icon was not lit.

I also have a second desktop pc in the shed acting as a server for cctv, that has a usb wireless adaptor in it. After rebooting the router, this pc doesn't see the router and i always have to reboot the pc, but i think this my be a case of poor wireless signal.

Can anyone help?

2. Advertisement
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Thanks
      Blog Entries

Re: Is my router faulty?

The first issue is pretty common and is caused by a deficiency in the current software on the Sky router. A software update is currently being tested by Sky and will hopefully be available "real soon now".