Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    New connection; poor speeds

    This is a discussion on New connection; poor speeds within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hey guys, I just signed up, got the router today. One of the old ones. Problem is, its syncing at ...

    1. #1
      lordmuggins's Avatar
      lordmuggins is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NINY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New connection; poor speeds

      Hey guys,

      I just signed up, got the router today. One of the old ones.

      Problem is, its syncing at 2232 or so (2208 earlier). Our noise levels are 63.5dB, with a 8.7dB noise margin.

      I just unplugged my old router (Safecom); same setup (Faceplate filter etc), and it was giving me 2600 or so (61.5 solid downstream SNR), with a 9dB noise margin.

      Turned uPNP off. I'm disgraced so far. Our connection usually went down to around 2.3-2.4 sync at night, so I'm afraid that the sky one will drop farther, giving us <2MB speeds with the BRAS profile wonders. (On Connect).

      Any ideas? I'm extremely dissapointed so far.


      Matt


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New connection; poor speeds

      Your line attenuation shows you are quite away from the exchange.

      Can you post your full detailed stats from the modem, using the netgear utility this is the utilities web address.

      Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4

      Then click on get detailed modem stats, then click on download and save the file somewhere on your computer, then open with example wordpad or notepad, and post the results it displays.

    4. #3
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: New connection; poor speeds

      Quote Originally Posted by lordmuggins View Post
      Hey guys,

      I just signed up, got the router today. One of the old ones.

      Problem is, its syncing at 2232 or so (2208 earlier). Our noise levels are 63.5dB, with a 8.7dB noise margin.

      I just unplugged my old router (Safecom); same setup (Faceplate filter etc), and it was giving me 2600 or so (61.5 solid downstream SNR), with a 9dB noise margin.

      Turned uPNP off. I'm disgraced so far. Our connection usually went down to around 2.3-2.4 sync at night, so I'm afraid that the sky one will drop farther, giving us <2MB speeds with the BRAS profile wonders. (On Connect).

      Any ideas? I'm extremely dissapointed so far.




      Matt
      What have you done to disgrace yourself ?

      with your attenuation at 63.5 the best you could hope for is somewhere around 2.5meg (ish) but this will only be with perfect conditions, have you tried plugging your router into the test socket (assuming you have a NTe5 master socket)

      also are you wired or wireless ?



      Edit: if you are on connect (and not pipex as your profile states), then you will get some changes in the first 10 days
      Last edited by richone54; 26-10-07 at 04:14 PM.

    5. #4
      lordmuggins's Avatar
      lordmuggins is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NINY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New connection; poor speeds

      My point was, with my old router I was 61.5dB; now Im 63.5.

      I used that "netgear tools" web paeg thing, and changed my SNR to 1dB. Its now syncing at around 2.7-3.1mb, with SNRs of around 3-9 (3 at night it seems).

      And incredibly stable. Question; will that setting stay after reboot?

      And any tips for extending wireless? Signal is very bad from that router. Im trying to set a repeater in various places around the house, but even that I'm finding tough heh.



      Matt

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New connection; poor speeds

      A few things you should consider. You are on Connect (BT ADSLMax 8mb) which has a training period of between 3 and 10 days. It will take your line a couple of weeks to settle in. You should not mess around with the SNR during this period or you may give the line a false setting. You should boot your router daily during the training period, preferably when the line is noisy, in the evening is usually best. This advice comes from the Plusnet forum which has far more experience with ADSLMax than Sky.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      lordmuggins's Avatar
      lordmuggins is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NINY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New connection; poor speeds

      It was synced at a stable 2.8 all last night. Back up to 3.1 now. Happy with that, btu the wireless on this this is awful I've flashed my Fonera to use it as a Repeater, which is working.. but struggling to find the happy medium in between me and the main router to bounce it




      Matt

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION