Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Is my router faulty

    This is a discussion on Is my router faulty within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Next time it happens i'll pick up the phone and see if i can hear any noise on the line ...

    1. #11
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Is my router faulty

      Next time it happens i'll pick up the phone and see if i can hear any noise on the line and make a note of the times etc and if it keeps happening will get intouch with BT.
      might be worth changing your filter before you phone BT, just to make sure it not a dodgy one


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Spinal's Avatar
      Spinal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Is my router faulty

      been doing a bit of testing etc.

      The noise on the line when picking the phone up etc - this hasnt happened any more so im guessing the day when i heard the noise, most likely something else must of causesd it rather than been the line.

      Managed to find my old DG834 router, and tested that and i did drop the connection but not as bad as the sky router.

      I updated the old DG834 to the new firmware for it - which was listed as update for ADSL2+ etc with better stability etc.

      After that update the router so far has not dropped the connection - its currently been connected for over almost 100 hours with no problems.

      100 hours isnt really much but it was accidently switched off at the wall the a few days ago day.

      So somehow the Sky router was causing the dropped connections i started to get.

      So hopefully sky will update the firmware for the sky router, as it must be the sky firmware causing it.

    4. #13
      chrisc's Avatar
      chrisc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01204
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      198
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my router faulty

      yer mine has been doing the same it is driving me nuts,starts about 17.30 at night and goes on all night.....router keeps disconecting every 30 mins..stats check please

    5. #14
      chrisc's Avatar
      chrisc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01204
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      198
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my router faulty

      refresh

    6. #15
      Dave G.'s Avatar
      Dave G. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: Is my router faulty

      In my experience most dropouts are caused by noise. Browse to http://mognuts.com/NetgearRouterUtility/html and select a noise margin of
      10db or above and leave your router connected. The default is 7db for some reason and switching of your router will revert to default.

    7. #16
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Is my router faulty

      Quote Originally Posted by Dave G. View Post
      In my experience most dropouts are caused by noise. Browse to http://mognuts.com/NetgearRouterUtility/html and select a noise margin of
      10db or above and leave your router connected. The default is 7db for some reason and switching of your router will revert to default.
      your link does not look like its working HERE is another

    8. #17
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Is my router faulty

      Quote Originally Posted by Dave G. View Post
      In my experience most dropouts are caused by noise.
      Well, to be more accurate the problem is the router's inability to cope with noise. A noise margin of 7dB should be enough for any ADSL router to work reliably, but deficiencies in the software on the Sky router results in it not being enough for many people.

      Increasing the target noise margin figure (using something like the mognuts utility page) is a way of working around this deficiency in the router software.

      When Sky finally release the new software for the router, hopefully a lot of people currently experiencing disconnection issues will see their service get a lot better.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION