Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Using Sky router just as a modem and using another router

    This is a discussion on Using Sky router just as a modem and using another router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, Just wanted to know if I could use the Sky router purely as a modem and use the Netgear ...

    1. #1
      abhi63's Avatar
      abhi63 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Using Sky router just as a modem and using another router

      Hi,

      Just wanted to know if I could use the Sky router purely as a modem and use the Netgear WNR834B as the router? Would the WNR834B have complete control, or will the sky router still function as a router?

      I haven't bought the WNR834B yet but i'm thinking about it. There's no real problems with the sky router except occasional drop outs, but I just need a greater range for signal to reach the far corners of my house

      Thanks in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Using Sky router just as a modem and using another router

      With the current firmware on the Sky router, it's not possible to use the Sky router just as a modem. What you can do is switch off the Sky router's wireless facility and use another device as a Wireless Access Point. If you set it up correctly, you can use another wireless router as an access point. There's a thread about how to do this somewhere on this forum. Have a search around for that.

    4. #3
      abhi63's Avatar
      abhi63 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using Sky router just as a modem and using another router

      Thanks for the quick reply.

      I've already flashed the firmware to the latest netgear firmware. Is it still not possible to do what I previously said?

      Thanks.

    5. #4
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Using Sky router just as a modem and using another router

      Hmmm, actually I'm not sure if that would make a difference. It really depends on how the WNR834B works. Typically a non-ADSL router would expect the public IP address to be brought up to the Ethernet port of the modem, and that works by having a numberless PPP link. Although you can switch NAT off on the latest firmware, I'm not sure if there's a way to make the public IP address available through one of the Ethernet ports on the Sky router.

      Using the WNR834B just as an access point is much easier.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Using Sky router just as a modem and using another router

      If you just want to extend the wireless range, a much cheaper option would be This If you are not going to be using it to transfer files internally, it will be fast enough for your Internet connection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      abhi63's Avatar
      abhi63 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using Sky router just as a modem and using another router

      Isitme,

      Doesn't the Netgear WG602 54G Access Point you linked me to provide exactly the same range as the DG834T?

      Surely linking the WG602 to my Sky router would make no difference in terms of extending the current range?

      Thanks.

    8. #7
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Using Sky router just as a modem and using another router

      Just because they look the same, doesn't mean they'll work the same. But personally, I think the easiest solution to your problem is to buy a decent Wireless Access Point. It doesn't have to be a Netgear one.

      Do you already have a WNR834B? Is that why you're keen to get that working as an access point?

    9. #8
      abhi63's Avatar
      abhi63 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using Sky router just as a modem and using another router

      I haven't bought the WNR834B yet. Can you recommend "a decent Wireless Access Point" that I can use with the Sky router?

      Thanks.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Using Sky router just as a modem and using another router

      Surely linking the WG602 to my Sky router would make no difference in terms of extending the current range?
      I must admit, I was thinking of connecting to the router with an ethernet cable, allowing you to position the wireless extender better. On second thoughts this is probably not a good idea as you could do the same thing with a longer RJ11 cable.

      If you are keen on extending the range one of THESE might be your best answer. It gets a very good write up.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Using Sky router just as a modem and using another router

      Actually, that looks like a really good piece of kit. You can have your router positioned close to the master socket (with its wireless facility switched off) and have the wireless access point in the room where you usually use your wireless laptop. Fantastic.

      110 at PC World, but can be found for quite a bit less than that elsewhere.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION