Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Great noise etc. on line but still problems...help please!?!

    This is a discussion on Great noise etc. on line but still problems...help please!?! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi everyone I made my first post on a sticky thread but I guess it's more useful and apparent if ...

    1. #1
      Griff_uk's Avatar
      Griff_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Great noise etc. on line but still problems...help please!?!

      Hi everyone

      I made my first post on a sticky thread but I guess it's more useful and apparent if I post here....

      We have only just had sky broadband for a few weeks at our shared house and up until last week there were no problems but now we are repeatedly being frozen out of the internet (e.g. msn goes down or emails/downloads stop etc.) whilst still keeping connected to the wireless network.

      I have tried reading through this forum (quite an ordeal for someone like me I can tell you as not too hot on this stuff) and have turned off UPnP and looked up the line stats which look great compared to others (I think!):
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 30521 43656 0 110 591 19:15:35
      LAN 10M/100M 1886 0 0 6 0 19:16:32
      WLAN 11M/54M 48484 40965 0 618 124 19:16:22

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2048 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 42.0 db 24.0 db
      Noise Margin 17.3 db 13.0 db

      I was wondering, as there are lots of sky users around this area according to the number of wireless networks I could attempt to join, would changing channel improve things? Or any other suggestions? I have an old router from our last provider but don't want to try and configure that just yet if someone has a better idea to improve this sky one.

      I know lots of threads are on this subject but most appear to have problems with the noise etc. - ours is constantly (super) high so I wonder if other problems are causing it. (As an aside, can an indoor aerial booster for digital tv interfere with the signal and could it be a distance thing even though the signal from the router says connected "excellent" - does that not necessarily indicate the internet is connected also "excellent".

      Sorry for all the Qs but just is confusing me completely and ruining downloads/webcam/msn etc.

      Sorry if I'm confused but thanks so much for any help in advance!!!
      Griff


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Great noise etc. on line but still problems...help please!?!

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2048 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 42.0 db 24.0 db
      Noise Margin 17.3 db 13.0 db
      There are a few things to try with the wireless, but first are you connected to an exstention ? your sync is very low for your attenuation, could be line noise dropping your connection
      could you post your full stats

    4. #3
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Great noise etc. on line but still problems...help please!?!

      See the other recent threads in this forum. It is probably down to major changes being made by EasyNet to their network which no-one has thought to tell the Sky Call Centre about! I have been having this problem for 3 days now - constant cut-offs, usually just when a long email or post has been composed!

    5. #4
      Griff_uk's Avatar
      Griff_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Great noise etc. on line but still problems...help please!?!

      System Up Time 22:20:40
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 961821 1423507 0 2704 16053 22:19:41
      LAN 10M/100M 1077 0 0 1 0 22:20:38
      WLAN 11M/54M/108M 1425743 989120 0 16292 2876 22:20:28

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2048 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 42.0 db 24.0 db
      Noise Margin 16.3 db 14.0 db

      Thanks for the replies so far guys -
      Richone - those are my full stats above - hope that's what you meant. I will look into whether I'm using an extension - didn't realise the phone point was as it's in the main room but will have a look around!
      It is definitely more of a problem when upstairs and further from the router though even though the signal on the laptop says it's great.

      Eyemdee - I will go back and try and make sense of the recent posts - thanks for the heads up!

    6. #5
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Great noise etc. on line but still problems...help please!?!

      see below


      Mognut’s Utility
      Go to the utility web site: Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4
      Click the “Get” detailed modem stats button and click “OK”.
      Enter the router login user name and password.
      At the next screen, click the back button on your browser.
      Click the “Download” netgear.cfg button.
      What you do next depends on your operating system. On Windows XP, click the “Save” button to save the file to your hard disk. (If you click “Open”, you may find that the file association is one that doesn’t handle carriage returns the same way as the router, hence the reason for saying “Save”.)
      Open the file in WordPad (not notepad).

    7. #6
      Griff_uk's Avatar
      Griff_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Great noise etc. on line but still problems...help please!?!

      Sorry for the inability there richone! Here they are:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2048 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 16.6 14.0
      Attn(dB): 42.0 24.0
      Pwr(dBm): 18.1 0.8
      Max(Kbps): 4448 1152
      Rate (Kbps): 2048 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 65(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 65 14
      M: 2 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.2424 17.0666
      L: 528 120
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 4822431 4822429
      SFErr: 40 2
      RS: 163962660 20495323
      RSCorr: 15618 1748
      RSUnCorr: 355 0

      HEC: 37 2
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 395988181 0
      Data Cells: 28168534 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 134 0
      SES: 130 0
      UAS: 26 0
      Total time = 22 hours 46 min 56 sec
      SF = 4822431
      CRC = 40
      LOS = 214
      LOF = 0
      ES = 134
      Latest 1 day time = 22 hours 46 min 56 sec
      SF = 4822431
      CRC = 40
      LOS = 214
      LOF = 0
      ES = 134
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 56 sec
      SF = 6823
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    8. #7
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Great noise etc. on line but still problems...help please!?!

      i thought you may have more errors than that (which could have been causing your disconnects)

      you said about the many wireless connections and asked about changing your channel, this would be a good idear, try to move as far away from the most used numbers) someone else may have just got BB and may be using the same channel

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Great noise etc. on line but still problems...help please!?!

      I think it is likely you have been capped. You should first try to do some work on your internal wiring. There is lots of help and advice on this in THIS part of the forum. If you manage to correct some faults, you can ask Sky to lift the cap a bit.

      You say you are in a 'shared house'. I am not sure what you mean by that, but you will need access to the master socket or the co-operation of the person who has the master in their part of the house.

      Wireless is never going to be as stable and fast as a wired connection. If at all possible you should do the checks on the line using ethernet, when it is fixed then you can attempt to improve the wireless reception.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION