Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Netgear Router Problem

    This is a discussion on Netgear Router Problem within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi there, Ok basically what the problem is is this I have been with sky BB since January 2007 and ...

    1. #1
      sony007's Avatar
      sony007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Netgear Router Problem

      Hi there,

      Ok basically what the problem is is this I have been with sky BB since January 2007 and I was having major problems with the the router sky supplied me with. I went out and bought my own router The RangeMAX to see if this would be better than the original router from sky, and indeed it was! But what I needed to set up the Rangemax was I think a mac number or DNS I can't remember what it was I needed to change in the setup to get it to work. I got the details from here when I asked back in Feb but after a search I couldn't find the thread. So what it is i've lost the setting somehow on my router and I would like them back and that router never dropped a connection once - well until this morning and all the setting had gone ! So now i've plugged the original router back in and i'm sure it's just matter of time before I start screaming again !


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Router Problem

      This page mentions how to obtain user name and password from Sky router.

      How do I upgrade my Sky Netgear DG834GT's Firmware?

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Netgear Router Problem

      Sometimes, when you can't find something like that, the best thing to do is to search your own posts. Like This one

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      sony007's Avatar
      sony007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Router Problem

      I'm not sure but I don't think thats what I had to do before, but I must say it does sort of ring a bell. I think what I had to do was go into the router setting by doing something to get the information that I would then add to my other router I just can remember what infomation it is . I don't recollect flashing anything, i'm not really concern about upgrading my firmware just want my other router working as it's more reliable.

    6. #5
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Router Problem

      You don't have to flash the new router -- just obtain the user name and password from the Sky one -- write it down and apply it to the new router.

    7. #6
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Netgear Router Problem

      Use this Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4 click the get username and password button then hit backpage and download the cfg file.

    8. #7
      sony007's Avatar
      sony007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Router Problem

      Ok i've save the neatgear.cfg file .....but when I open it in notepad all the values = 0.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Netgear Router Problem

      Make sure the router address is correct and Get Username is selected in the dropdown. Click 'get' and you will be asked for the User/Password for the router (admin/sky) When you see the 'ping' page press the browser back button and click download. Save the file as Word.exe or wordpad. click open.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      sony007's Avatar
      sony007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Router Problem

      @Koala5, cheers m8 that was the baby I was looking for ! And thanx to everyone else who chipped in ;-) much appreciated.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION