Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 40 of 40

    Sky Router Firmware Upgrade

    This is a discussion on Sky Router Firmware Upgrade within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; You cannot flash the router using the web interface, as the Sky firmware prevents it. The less technical minded people ...

    1. #31
      tapzilla2k's Avatar
      tapzilla2k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oxford SMOF
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware Upgrade

      You cannot flash the router using the web interface, as the Sky firmware prevents it. The less technical minded people won't bother flashing the router via the recovery tool because they will either be too scared or they won't know about it.
      I have tried flashing my router with the recovery tool, but it doesn't seem to want to work with my motherboards ethernet port.
      But my connection is pretty much stable for the most part (i sometimes have to reboot the router every so often).
      Most of the original problems i had with the Sky Router were down to the UPnP not working correctly.
      Last edited by tapzilla2k; 07-10-07 at 10:45 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      steesh2302's Avatar
      steesh2302 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: VM 10Meg
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: VM V+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Just Ootside Toon
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool Re: Sky Router Firmware Upgrade

      Well, since I flashed my router with firmware v1.02.09 I've had a stable connection.

    4. #33
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware Upgrade

      Inside the router settings - its all netgear branding/logos with a 'Router Upgrade"' link

      Click that and it takes you to the upgrade page.
      I'm afraid it is not you know, the standard Netgear configuration page is quite different from the Sky one. I don't know why they left the 'Router upgrade' bit in, but if you try it, you will find it does not work. The method of upgrading the firmware, although quite possible, is a bit more complicated than just clicking a button on the Router Upgrade page.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #34
      bluecandylover's Avatar
      bluecandylover is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Shields
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware Upgrade

      I read on the first page of this thread an MSN bug where it signs out at 12/1am

      Does anyone here have the bug TWICE?

      01:00 Disconnects
      01:01 Disconnects

      It's just annoying especially when your in a webcam

    6. #35
      fill0000's Avatar
      fill0000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware Upgrade

      when are sky going to release this.. they are taking there time ??

    7. #36
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware Upgrade

      How long is a piece of string. It has been a long time coming but if that means that are throughlyy testing it and are ironing out any problems then they can take as long as they want as mine connection is just fine at the moment and I am not in a hurry for this (if it ever comes).

    8. #37
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware Upgrade

      I find it a bit strange, they have already released new firmware for the replacement router for the Netgear, yet they can't get out firmware for the original one. That's if I have got things right

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #38
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sky Router Firmware Upgrade

      Have they started shipping the new router yet? I didn't think they had. As far as I know, both the new router and the new firmware for the old router are still in testing. For people involved in the testing process (I assume this is selected Sky employees, or something), I would imagine that they're getting test releases on a regular basis as problems are identified and fixed on both types of router.

    10. #39
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Firmware Upgrade

      No, sorry if I confused you. I just picked up the info from THIS thread(64). But as I say, it seems strange that they are able to update firmware for a router that has not been released and they can't release the firmware that we are all eagerly awaiting. Have they got their priorities wrong, or are there two different teams involved?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #40
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Router Firmware Upgrade

      There have been several releases of the FW for the V1 router as far as we can understand. Obviously it must still not be right yet.

      As for the V2 router, there appears to be very little wrong with it as the FW updates for it have been few and far between. A few people have reported to us, that there are no problems with stability, UPnP, Wireless performance etc.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION