Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 49

    Keep rebooting my router...

    This is a discussion on Keep rebooting my router... within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, I've noticed a slowdown in my internet speeds at various times of the day. If i perform a reboot ...

    1. #1
      ukdy's Avatar
      ukdy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Solihull
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Keep rebooting my router...

      Hi,

      I've noticed a slowdown in my internet speeds at various times of the day. If i perform a reboot of my router my speed picks back up again...

      Why do I keep having to do this... Should I flash the firmware or is there a more simple explanation. It has been fine for 2/3 months and now I'm getting this problem.

      Thanks Guys.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Keep rebooting my router...

      Changes in speed are quite normal, but if rebooting the router cures it then that suggests errors are building up and slowing your connection. Post your full detailed stats over a 24 hour period and someone will help.

      Do not flash your router, it will do no good and possibly render it useless.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Keep rebooting my router...

      No seriously, I am starting to feel like the crazed conspiracy theorist on this forum!

      I remember the first person I spoke to at Customer Service tried explaining my problem as being caused by my connection running a bit too fast. This - apparently - was causing a few errors and these errors were building up and up until there was very little usable connectivity at all.

      Utter hogwash.

      Of course, error counts build up over time, but error rates should not build up unless the physical characteristics of the line are actually degrading, and if everything is fine when you reboot the router, that demonstrates that isn't the case.

      The ADSL specifications are supposed to allow for the physical characteristics of the phone line to change over the course of the day. They'll do this most dramatically at dusk and at dawn, and there may also be a seasonal component to this change as well. (I haven't managed to find any relationship to the phase of the moon. Yet. )

      My current theory for this "fizzing out" problem is that the code on the router which drives the ADSL chip inside it is out-of-date and buggy. And in particular, it doesn't implement the mechanism which handles changing line characteristics very well.

      Now that might sound like I'm recommending reflashing the router. I AM NOT SUGGESTING THAT. Reflashing the router is a bad idea for two reasons: (1) it's surprisingly easy to get it wrong and be left with a white plastic box which frankly isn't heavy enough even to be a very good paperweight. (2) Standard Netgear firmware will not have the extra Sky code which make the router periodically check Sky's servers for a firmware update. Consequently, Sky will be able to work out that you've tampered with the router and may chose to remove you from their network.

      I'm just hoping that when Sky finally get around to updating the firmware on their Netgear routers, that they'll have the sense to use the updated driver code for the ADSL chipset.

    5. #4
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Keep rebooting my router...

      You could also be suffering due to the noise ratio dropping to a point where you can't get reliable connection and the rebooting resets the speed slightly lower with the noise ratio going back up to 7db and so it seems that you are getting a faster connection when it just is more reliable.

      This is my main complaint with this router that it doesn't seem able to track the noise ratio automatically like other routers are able to and ive a more stable connection.

    6. #5
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Keep rebooting my router...

      Yeah, I can well imagine that being a cause of many people's problems (although my line always manages to get the full 15323kbit/sec, so it's not what's happening in my case).

      Bit swapping, retraining, seamless rate adaptation - I don't think any of this is working properly at the moment.

    7. #6
      ukdy's Avatar
      ukdy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Solihull
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Keep rebooting my router...

      here are my stats since i last did a reboot... about 36 hours ago.. btw, all seems fine since i did a reboot.. lots of downloading...i guess it takes time for the errors to build up, let me know your thoughts.

      thanks,

      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 766 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15323 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.3 12.5
      Attn(dB): 25.0 13.0
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 16176 884
      Rate (Kbps): 15323 766
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 64 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 124
      B: 238 13
      M: 1 16
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4980 8.6877
      L: 4096 221
      D: 64 4
      Counters
      SF: 8786885 8786883
      SFErr: 46023 1
      RS: 1142295114 37344252
      RSCorr: 552652 9
      RSUnCorr: 119818 0

      HEC: 45614 0
      OCD: 126 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 845090530 256976550
      Data Cells: 21365786 3886839
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 1699 1
      SES: 1047 0
      UAS: 14 16
      Total time = 1 days 15 hours 30 min 50 sec
      SF = 8786885
      CRC = 46023
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1699
      Latest 1 day time = 15 hours 30 min 50 sec
      SF = 3450381
      CRC = 41089
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1428
      Latest 15 minutes time = 50 sec
      SF = 3088
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55653
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5336504
      CRC = 4934
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 271
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55590
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55591
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55590
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    8. #7
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Keep rebooting my router...

      errors do seem to be building up, are you using an extenstion ? have you tried test socket (will rule out home wiring problems)

    9. #8
      ukdy's Avatar
      ukdy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Solihull
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Keep rebooting my router...

      nope no extension. plugged into the main bt socket. i'll plug into the master test socket and leave until sunday night and run of some more stats then.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Keep rebooting my router...

      Make sure you clear the existing errors before you start another period. I think the errors are coming in spikes, so although your overall figure is not too bad, short term spikes could be effecting the connection. James is obviously well up on this, so maybe he could advise how to isolate the error periods, apart from checking every hour that is.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Keep rebooting my router...

      You have to monitor the quarter-hour periods manually, or have a script of some kind running on a PC or on the router.

      Give me a couple of hours and I'll write a script that sits on the router and monitors the error rate on a regular basis.

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION