Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 49

    Keep rebooting my router...

    This is a discussion on Keep rebooting my router... within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I tried 'adslctl connection --down; adslctl connection --up', and also 'adslctl configure' (those both seem to trigger a reconnection), but ...

    1. #21
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Keep rebooting my router...

      I tried 'adslctl connection --down; adslctl connection --up', and also 'adslctl configure' (those both seem to trigger a reconnection), but I didn't try the start or stop options…

      …no, that doesn't seem to work either.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Keep rebooting my router...

      Hmm, that should do it. Let me give it a go tonight and I'll let you know what happens.
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

    4. #23
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Keep rebooting my router...

      Now if you can get that working, then there's the real possibility of getting something going that actually progressively improves the reliability of the connection, rather than just kludgingly restarting the connection every time it starts dying.

    5. #24
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Keep rebooting my router...

      Quote Originally Posted by James67 View Post
      ... rather than just kludgingly restarting the connection every time it starts dying.
      Or even more kludgingly rebooting the whole router.
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

    6. #25
      ukdy's Avatar
      ukdy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Solihull
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Keep rebooting my router...

      thanks for helping out guys... i hope we can find a resolution.

    7. #26
      ukdy's Avatar
      ukdy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Solihull
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Keep rebooting my router...

      hey guys... so i had to reboot my router last night after only getting 300Kb download speeds. it went back to 10Mb after.

      i have just done the same again tonight. it was 70-100Kb download speeds and now after rebooting it's 4Mb... but i guess that's about normal for this time of night with the contention etc...

      any idea what i could do... perhaps request a new router... or is it the line that is the problem.

    8. #27
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Keep rebooting my router...

      Are you still running James' script? If you are, are the errors still occurring around the same time period? I don't think changing your router would make any difference, as severe spikes on your line seem to be your problem. As James pointed out earlier, the problem seems to be in the firmware of the router, so having it replaced is not going to help. If you were to get a different make of router, it might, but there is no guarantee. As the new firmware is going to be released shortly it may be better if you hang on until it is, just boot your router every few days to keep your connection up. Hopefully the new firmware will reduce the amount of problems being encountered by almost everyone.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #28
      ukdy's Avatar
      ukdy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Solihull
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Keep rebooting my router...

      i'm not still running the script, it stops running on reboot and the problem is around the same time in the evening... (not every evening mind you) so figured there was not much point with the script anymore... we know what the problem is.

      what is the deal with the new firmware... when is it due.. and where are the rumors of this coming from ??

      thanks...

      dom

    10. #29
      JakeSpleen's Avatar
      JakeSpleen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Keep rebooting my router...

      Nice discussion here guys, Does anyone know when the firmware will acyally be released?

      And also to clarify - If i bought a router and flashed it then installed the netgear firmware on it this would solve the issue?

      It's been affecting me very badly, sometimes in the week nights I only get 10 mins connection or less before I have to reboot the router. On saturday though I get 9+ hours connection time.

      It's been bugging me as I'm tech support and couldn't pin down the issue. Now I am enlightend. Cheers

    11. #30
      ukdy's Avatar
      ukdy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Solihull
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Keep rebooting my router...

      it seems to be every night now that when i get home... i have to reboot otherwise my speed is v.slow. right now it's only 1-2Mbps.... i will post this reboot and then post my new speed.

      before reboot

      please see next post on page 4....
      Last edited by ukdy; 11-10-07 at 08:02 PM.

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION