Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Losing connection and router looping. Driving me insane!

    This is a discussion on Losing connection and router looping. Driving me insane! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi everybody, I have had an issue for about 2 weeks now and it is driving me insane. I have ...

    1. #1
      spinnaker's Avatar
      spinnaker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Losing connection and router looping. Driving me insane!

      Hi everybody,

      I have had an issue for about 2 weeks now and it is driving me insane. I have searched these forums for an answer but have not found anything that matches/fixes the issue. The router has been working fine (occasional disconnects) for the last 4 months. No changes have been made to the phone line, extensions, etc.

      My router has started to lose its connection. If I unplug the router for 30 mins plus and then plug it in it will connect straight up and work fine for 5-10 minutes (on occasion upto an hour). Then the connection light switches off.

      If I reset the router using the button on the back of the router, leave it for 30 seconds and plug back in it loops through the following over and over again:

      - Power light and ethernet port light comes on
      - Check light flashes twice
      - Wireless light goes on for a second and then goes off again
      - Then all of the lights on the router go off for a few secs (cue 'network cable is unplugged' message on screen)
      - Then the loop starts again

      I can only get reconnected if I leave the router unplugged for 30+ mins as mentioned above.

      I am unable to get access to the router admin interface when it is looping like this. It either won't log in or it will show me a blank white page.

      I have tried the following:
      - Unplugging all extensions and phones in the flat from the wall
      - switching microfilters
      - switching modem cables
      - switching ethernet cable
      - resetting the router with no network cables in
      - turning off the wifi
      - turning off upnp (I lose all browsing connectivity)
      - resetting the router to factory defaults
      - switching the Target Noise Margin to 15db (via the mognuts site)

      I have spoken to the Sky BB call centre who insisted that the problem was because my exchange was down <sigh>, which seemed odd as I could get connected occasionally. The detailed stats for a brief stint when I managed to get a connection are listed in the post below.

      Where do I go from here? I will try anything!

      Thanks in advance for your help folks.


      Edit: When I click the Sky Test button in the admin site it just sits there and does nothing after popping up the box. On occasion doing this has disconnected an active connection.
      Last edited by spinnaker; 26-09-07 at 04:16 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      spinnaker's Avatar
      spinnaker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Losing connection and router looping. Driving me insane!

      Router stats for one of my longer periods of being connected:


      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 1792 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: OFF
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 14.8 21.0
      Attn(dB): 50.0 31.0
      Pwr(dBm): 16.8 11.9
      Max(Kbps): 1952 1044
      Rate (Kbps): 1792 448
      G.dmt framing
      K: 57(0) 15
      R: 16 16
      S: 4 8
      D: 4 2
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 92 15
      M: 2 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 14 16
      S: 2.1505 9.0000
      L: 744 128
      D: 8 2
      Counters
      SF: 360514 360512
      SFErr: 51 0
      RS: 6128750 3064352
      RSCorr: 12402 0
      RSUnCorr: 155 0

      HEC: 45 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 25901517 0
      Data Cells: 89140 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 46 0
      SES: 13 0
      UAS: 45 0
      Total time = 1 hours 47 min 57 sec
      SF = 377392
      CRC = 54
      LOS = 16
      LOF = 0
      ES = 46
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 47 min 57 sec
      SF = 377392
      CRC = 54
      LOS = 16
      LOF = 0
      ES = 46
      Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 57 sec
      SF = 10468
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 6
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 7
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 0
      ES = 7
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 12
      LOS = 5
      LOF = 0
      ES = 12

    4. #3
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Losing connection and router looping. Driving me insane!

      Sounds like a duff router! ring Sky again and tell them that you smelt burning and spotted smoke coming out of the router so you pulled the plug out. Hopefully that should persuade them to send you a new one.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Losing connection and router looping. Driving me insane!

      I am not 100% sure but you look as if you may be on Connect and not Max!

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      spinnaker's Avatar
      spinnaker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Losing connection and router looping. Driving me insane!

      Hi,

      Thanks for the suggestions so far. I think I might well be on Connect rather than Max at the moment.

      I spoke to Sky a couple of times last night and they have pushed me to plug the router into the BT test socket and BT are going to test the line. I genuinely don't think that this is the problem, I think my router is on the fritz.

      Any other things that I could be trying in the meantime?

      Thanks again.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Losing connection and router looping. Driving me insane!

      you're definately on Connect, the 448 upload is the giveaway...

      do u have another router you can try?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      spinnaker's Avatar
      spinnaker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Losing connection and router looping. Driving me insane!

      Unfortunately I don't have an alternate router on hand to try it with. I am now waiting on BT to double check that the line is okay and then they plan to send me a replacement router I believe.

      Thanks for all the help.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION