Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Help Needed Download speeds too slow

    This is a discussion on Help Needed Download speeds too slow within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have sky broadband max and i am 2.47km from my exchange. My line is capable of 12 - 16MB ...

    1. #1
      Kurby's Avatar
      Kurby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      86
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help Needed Download speeds too slow

      I have sky broadband max and i am 2.47km from my exchange. My line is capable of 12 - 16MB and i am getting 2.2 I have turned uPn off and turned off wireless as i don't use it. I am using a extension to connection my router but i am going to try the test socket tomorrow but i think there is something wrong with the mast socket as theres a green wire not connected and sticking out of the bottom Here are my routers stats:

      Code:
      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime  Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2848 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode:			G.DMT
      Channel:		Interleave
      Trellis:		ON
      Line Status:		No Defect
      Training Status:	Showtime
      		Down		Up
      SNR (dB):	8.5		13.0
      Attn(dB):	47.0		28.5
      Pwr(dBm):	19.1		10.1
      Max(Kbps):	3200		1184
      Rate (Kbps):	2848		768
      			G.dmt framing
      K:		90(0)		25
      R:		16		16
      S:		2		8
      D:		64		8
      			ADSL2 framing
      MSGc:		1		1
      B:		90		25
      M:		2		8
      T:		1		1
      R:		16		16
      S:		2.1758		8.6153
      L:		728		208
      D:		64		8
      			Counters
      SF:		5558164		5558162
      SFErr:		145030		66
      RS:		188977584		47244377
      RSCorr:		152315473		472
      RSUnCorr:	454862		0
      
      HEC:		114753		50
      OCD:		7		34
      LCD:		0		2
      Total Cells:	634295822		0
      Data Cells:	158526920		0
      Drop Cells:	0
      Bit Errors:	0		0
      
      ES:		25525		0
      SES:		25522		0
      UAS:		142		0
      Total time = 1 days 2 hours 18 min 56 sec
      SF  = 5558164
      CRC = 145030
      LOS = 3173492
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 25525
      Latest 1 day time = 2 hours 18 min 56 sec
      SF  = 490430
      CRC = 27294
      LOS = 327295
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 2520
      Latest 15 minutes time = 3 min 56 sec
      SF  = 13939
      CRC = 880
      LOS = 9396
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 60
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 52930
      CRC = 3221
      LOS = 35963
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 257
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF  = 5067734
      CRC = 117736
      LOS = 2846197
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 23005
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 52989
      CRC = 3385
      LOS = 36028
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 342
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 52931
      CRC = 3030
      LOS = 35386
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 236
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 52930
      CRC = 2914
      LOS = 35226
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 260
      I think it is my master socket, i will try my router in the test socket but can anyone see if there are any bad errors, i know (CRC = 145030) is suppose to be a number close to 0 but i don't know of any other errors


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Help Needed Download speeds too slow

      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5067734
      CRC = 117736
      LOS = 2846197
      LOF = 0
      ES = 23005
      all of above errors will prob be dow to your extention, you are right to check in the master socket (better test will be from test socket behind the face plate)

      post some more stats when you are using test socket
      (how long have you been on line? if you have spoken to sky about your prob they may well have capped you but i cannot tel from these stats, as sync is close to your max but again once errors are lower we may be able to see more)

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help Needed Download speeds too slow

      I don't know who told you you line was capable of 12-16Mb, I think it must have been the tooth fairy

      With an attenuation of 47 with a near perfect line you could expect 6 to 8 Mb on Max with ADSL2+, as you are G.DMT the best you can expect is 3 -5 MB. Connection to the Test socket, rather than an extension, should lift your speed some, but nothing like you have been told. If the 2.47k distance from exchange, is straight line distance, then your actual line length is likely to be nearer 6k. If it is actual line length, then your line has severe problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Kurby's Avatar
      Kurby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      86
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help Needed Download speeds too slow

      richone54 ill run the router frmo the test socket later and get the stats

      Isitme: 2.47k distance from exchange yeah i ment in a straight line i haven't phoned sky about it but should i ask them to ADSL2+?

    6. #5
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Help Needed Download speeds too slow

      see what happens from the test socket first before you phone sky

    7. #6
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Help Needed Download speeds too slow

      if you move to adsl2+ your attenuation will go up to about 49. G.DMT outperforms ADSL2+ for attenuations above (approx) 40db.

      You won't get a stable connection above 8Mb max (prob 6Mb in reallity) so there is no point in trying ADSL2+.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help Needed Download speeds too slow

      ^^^^^^^^^^
      Agreed, unfortunately many take Max for the extra speed and then find their line is not up to it. Unless you really need unlimited download, I would advise anyone joining Sky to opt for Mid. If you find you can get a better speed for the extra 5, it is fairly easy to upgrade. Coming down is not so easy, as it must be done within the first month or at the end of 12 months. I have heard that Sky will consider downgrading if the speed is really bad, but it is up to them whether they do it or not. As things stand, unless you download more than 40 Gb a month, you are paying the extra 5 for nothing.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Kurby's Avatar
      Kurby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      86
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help Needed Download speeds too slow

      thats why i am staying with max i do download more than 40GB a month so i don't mind paying the extra 5 just took the face plate off and theres no test socket there and there are 4 wires and only 2 are connected so ill call out BT and ask them to put in a new one
      Last edited by Kurby; 16-09-07 at 03:46 PM.

    10. #9
      Kurby's Avatar
      Kurby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      86
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help Needed Download speeds too slow

      Code:
      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime  Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 6304 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode:			G.DMT
      Channel:		Interleave
      Trellis:		ON
      Line Status:		No Defect
      Training Status:	Showtime
      		Down		Up
      SNR (dB):	7.1		14.0
      Attn(dB):	46.0		28.5
      Pwr(dBm):	19.6		9.8
      Max(Kbps):	6912		1184
      Rate (Kbps):	6304		768
      			G.dmt framing
      K:		198(0)		25
      R:		16		16
      S:		1		8
      D:		64		8
      			ADSL2 framing
      MSGc:		1		1
      B:		198		25
      M:		1		8
      T:		1		1
      R:		16		16
      S:		1.0804		8.6153
      L:		1592		208
      D:		64		8
      			Counters
      SF:		180727		180725
      SFErr:		14		12
      RS:		12289440		1536162
      RSCorr:		10932		156
      RSUnCorr:	463		0
      
      HEC:		11		10
      OCD:		0		0
      LCD:		0		0
      Total Cells:	45689445		0
      Data Cells:	3831834		0
      Drop Cells:	0
      Bit Errors:	0		0
      
      ES:		18		0
      SES:		12		0
      UAS:		27		0
      Total time = 51 min 53 sec
      SF  = 180727
      CRC = 14
      LOS = 17
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 18
      Latest 1 day time = 51 min 53 sec
      SF  = 180727
      CRC = 14
      LOS = 17
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 18
      Latest 15 minutes time = 6 min 53 sec
      SF  = 24290
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 5
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 3
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 52930
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 8
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 10
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF  = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 52931
      CRC = 8
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 3
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 50576
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 2
      i just got these results now with the router pluged into the master socket, and teh CRC is 14 so i think the extension socket is the problem, i want to put a extension socket by my computer but is it illegal to do it myself or have i got to call out BT to do it?

    11. #10
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Help Needed Download speeds too slow

      Yes - looks like the extension is the culprit.

      Everything your side from the backplate of the master socket is yours to touch/change. It's a shame you don't have an NTE5 master socket (which has a test socket) as the faceplate will definitely have terminals for hardwiring extensions. Depending on how old your socket is, yours may or may not have these. Have a look. If they're there then fix up an extension. Take care to keep it as short as possible, don't run it near any other wires (especially power cables) and don't crush the wire with the wrong sort of cable clips.

      If you don't have extension terminals then consider fitting a new NTE5 to the side of the old socket and running everything off that - preferably with a filtered faceplate fitted.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION