Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Router Settings?

    This is a discussion on Router Settings? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; help needed I have turned UPnP off and unchecked "enable wireless access point" and "Allow Broadcast of Name (SSID)" and ...

    1. #1
      Kurby's Avatar
      Kurby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      86
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router Settings?

      help needed I have turned UPnP off and unchecked "enable wireless access point" and "Allow Broadcast of Name (SSID)" and also forwarded ports and added inbound and outbound services in firewall rules, but a day later i look and all the settings are back to default does anyone know what the problem is?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router Settings?

      Did you remember to click the apply button for each change?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Kurby's Avatar
      Kurby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      86
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Settings?

      of course say when i have forwarded my prots my torrent speeds increase but then 24 hours later they are at low speeds i look at my router settings and everything is back to default

    5. #4
      Kurby's Avatar
      Kurby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      86
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Settings?

      i think i have found the problem, i have just read that when i have to re-set my router as it frequently loses connection i am pressing the reset button for too long this erases my settings

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router Settings?

      If you switch the power off then back on again, it will do the same without loosing your settings. A software reboot will often work as well. As you have discovered, if you use the reset button, you risk loosing your settings.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Router Settings?

      just as a note, have you checked your router stats, you may be getting errors which is why you are having to re-set so often

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION