Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    Can I use a friends sky router before mine arrives?

    This is a discussion on Can I use a friends sky router before mine arrives? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Thought it might, thanks for confirming....

    1. #11
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Can I use a friends sky router before mine arrives?

      Thought it might, thanks for confirming.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      castro's Avatar
      castro is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hythe, Kent
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I use a friends sky router before mine arrives?

      Just a general comment about this.
      In order to connect to a sky service using a friends login details both parties need to be subscribers to sky broadband. So why should sky be bothered? As far as I can see, sky are getting paid the correct amount, aren't they?

    4. #13
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Can I use a friends sky router before mine arrives?

      The biggest problem I can see:

      Friend A has 2 routers from Sky

      Friend B has none

      Friend A lends Friend B a router (which is assigned and belongs to Friend A) and then Friend B downloads loads of illegal content. Then Friend A would appear to be responsible in case of any comebacks.

      Might not be the case, but it could be a possibility.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #14
      RickyC's Avatar
      RickyC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Salford
      Broadband ISP: Mid/JNET
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Salford
      Posts
      705
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I use a friends sky router before mine arrives?

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      The biggest problem I can see:

      Friend A has 2 routers from Sky

      Friend B has none

      Friend A lends Friend B a router (which is assigned and belongs to Friend A) and then Friend B downloads loads of illegal content. Then Friend A would appear to be responsible in case of any comebacks.

      Might not be the case, but it could be a possibility.
      but lending your mate your router is your own risk.

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can I use a friends sky router before mine arrives?

      Friend A has 2 routers from Sky
      I think this is the crucial statement, if Sky ask questions.

      a) How did someone get 2 routers?
      b) If one was supplied as a replacement , why was the spare one not returned?
      c) If one was supplied as a replacement for a faulty one, how come it now works?
      d) How come the 'faulty' one was not returned?

      Someday, Sky auditors are going to discover that routers have been given out willy-nilly and will demand the return of, or payment for the missing routers. If this was a case of a few dozen, they would probably just write them off, but from what I have read on this forum and others, it must run into 100s if not 1000s of units. It could be that no proper record of what has been supplied has been kept, if that is the case, some QMs, or whatever Sky call them, are going to be looking for jobs.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Can I use a friends sky router before mine arrives?

      what should happen is if one is sent out the old one gets taken off the system, but yeah what u said above it true - replacements get sent out with a freepost address to return the other back to Sky...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #17
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Can I use a friends sky router before mine arrives?

      I know a person with 4 routers and another person with 3, so Sky have sent 5 extra there for no reason. Neither of them have ever asked for a replacement, these were sent as and when they signed up for Connect.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can I use a friends sky router before mine arrives?

      what should happen is if one is sent out the old one gets taken off the system
      I think if they are not returned, they can't be scanned to get their details, so they can't be removed.

      Neither of them have ever asked for a replacement, these were sent as and when they signed up for Connect.
      I think these could be classed as unsolicited goods and if not collected within 6 months can be disposed of by the holder.

      But to be honest, if you order something and paid for it and you are sent 2, 3, or 4 by mistake, you would surely phone the supplier and ask them what to do with them. I think these are being looked on differently as they are supplied free.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION