Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Constant Speed

    This is a discussion on Constant Speed within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello, I wondered if anyone could help,I usually connect at around 14meg but for the last weeek my connection has ...

    1. #1
      CraigHort's Avatar
      CraigHort is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Constant Speed

      Hello, I wondered if anyone could help,I usually connect at around 14meg but for the last weeek my connection has been frozen at 8mg, I have tried re booting and a hard reset and powering up then down but the connection remains constant, Any ideas how i can push it back up again,

      Is it worth a call to the evry helpful sky guys?

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 542 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8190 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 17.1 19.0
      Attn(dB): 33.0 20.2
      Pwr(dBm): 0.9 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 15560 644
      Rate (Kbps): 8190 542
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 17
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 63 68
      B: 238 16
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.9298 7.5527
      L: 2194 161
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 5056956 5056954
      SFErr: 0 1
      RS: 348929994 42984109
      RSCorr: 148305 2
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1566904202 103728884
      Data Cells: 36148986 1356755
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 9 1
      SES: 9 0
      UAS: 14 17
      Total time = 22 hours 32 min 11 sec
      SF = 5056956
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 11
      LOF = 0
      ES = 9
      Latest 1 day time = 22 hours 32 min 11 sec
      SF = 5056956
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 11
      LOF = 0
      ES = 9
      Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 11 sec
      SF = 8166
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56101
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56101
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56101
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56164
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Constant Speed

      looking at those stats there's nothing that jumps out - are you running in ur master/test socket, or at least tried these?...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Constant Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by CraigHort View Post
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 17.1 19.0
      Attn(dB): 33.0 20.2
      Max(Kbps): 15560 644
      Rate (Kbps): 8190 542
      Very high noise margin and a massive difference between your max rate and actual. Looks to me like you've been capped though your upstream looks odd so maybe there's some other problem. You need to call Sky and attempt to get through to T3 to find out what's going on.
      Last edited by Saturday; 12-09-07 at 08:30 PM.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Constant Speed

      ^ good eye, yeah ur capped at 8192 but as to why they've done 540-odd for an upload would suggest an auto regrade as thats a very random figure to set it at otherwise...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      CraigHort's Avatar
      CraigHort is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant Speed

      Cheers for the thoughts Guys,

      Yep im running from the master socket,

      Guess it will have to be the waiting/paying game called sky customer service

      I thought the cap was 8096, Guess we'll have to see what sky say

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Constant Speed

      it'll be 8192, which on gdmt will show as 8096 and 8190 (or there abouts) on ADSL2+...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      CraigHort's Avatar
      CraigHort is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant Speed

      Cheers for the quick replies,I'm on hold as we speak

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Constant Speed

      did u have an earlir fault and called Sky? must've done as the prob wouldn't have touched it otherwise...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      CraigHort's Avatar
      CraigHort is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant Speed

      yeah i did,lost internet connection via extension upstairs so rang sky who said they would pass it to tier 3 who have now closed ticket without even talking to me about it so guess they just capped me and thought id go away, they guessed wrong

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Constant Speed

      night staff do that - prob caped line as it wasn't up (due to the extention) and when it did come back up no one checked again.....
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION