Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 95

    Router problems or something else having problems

    This is a discussion on Router problems or something else having problems within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi people I'm new here so go easy on me. I've been on sky max for about a month now ...

    1. #1
      matrixsc's Avatar
      matrixsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGLNFI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router problems or something else having problems

      Hi people


      I'm new here so go easy on me. I've been on sky max for about a month now and not really had any problems other than the last week.

      It seems i have to keep resetting the router alot over the past few days either in the admin set up or the button on the back of the router.

      I can be surfing the web and then come back and it won't display a page etc once i've reset it it works fine?

      Anyhowit's getting to a silly point at the moment keep doing it and i don't know whats wrong. Also my light on the router the internet one next to the number 1 keeps flickering and i'm sure that sonly just started over the past few days to is that normal?


      Here's me stats :-


      System Up Time 00:04:28
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1529 1927 0 1163 4443 00:03:50
      LAN 10M/100M 2091 1649 0 4223 1194 00:04:26
      WLAN 11M/54M 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15446 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 26.0 db 14.4 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 11.5 db



      ADSL Port
      MAC Address 00:1B:2F:770:AB
      IP Address ---
      Network Type PPPoA
      IP Subnet Mask ---
      Gateway IP Address ---
      Domain Name Server ---

      LAN Port
      MAC Address 00:1B:2F:770:AA
      IP Address 192.168.0.1
      DHCP On
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB018e.d16f
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 15446 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 764 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      Wireless Port
      Name (SSID) SKY77002
      Region Europe
      Channel 6
      Wireless AP Disabled
      Broadcast Name Enabled



      Wireless Network
      Name (SSID):
      Region: Europe
      Channel: 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 10 11 12 13
      Mode: g & bg onlyAuto 108Mbps

      Wireless Access Point
      Enable Wireless Access Point
      Allow Broadcast of Name (SSID)
      Wireless Isolation

      Wireless Station Access List

      Security Options
      Disable
      WEP (Wired Equivalent Privacy)
      WPA-PSK (Wi-Fi Protected Access Pre-Shared Key)
      WPA-802.1x



      UPnP

      Turn UPnP On
      Advertisement Period (in minutes) 30
      Advertisement Time To Live (in hops) 4

      UPnP Portmap Table On
      Active Protocol Int. Port Ext. Port IP Address



      Is there anything wrong with my connection from what i've seen and read it looks alright i think?

      I've also tried switching UPnP on and off and thats not make any difference at all.


      Really could do with some advice please.


      Thanks

      Scott..


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      could you have a look in tools & tutorials and post your full stats, also are you plugged into to the master socket

      once posted i am sure someone will be able to help

    4. #3
      matrixsc's Avatar
      matrixsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGLNFI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      could you have a look in tools & tutorials and post your full stats, also are you plugged into to the master socket

      once posted i am sure someone will be able to help

      Ok sorry for sounding thick but how do i get full stats? i thought i'd done it by posting them there ?


      No the master socket is downstairs and i've no idea how to get a ethernet cable from there and upstairs. Though i guess i could move the computer downstairs to test.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      see link on my sig as to how to get full stats but id be almost 100% certain the extention ur running from is the issue.....what people dont understand is that phone lines have to be 100% correct for ADSL to run well on extentions - especially at the speed ur getting

      ur gonna have to try it in the master socket (even if its only for a day or something), or buy a longer ethernet cable, and see if it helps but id be almost certain it would.....also, turn off UPnP as this is also known to cause issues
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      thanks IAmNotTheEnemy,

      i just spent 10mins trying to get the info on how to get router stats,

      p.s dont suppose you could tell how to put a similar sticky on my sig, ?

    7. #6
      matrixsc's Avatar
      matrixsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGLNFI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      see link on my sig as to how to get full stats but id be almost 100% certain the extention ur running from is the issue.....what people dont understand is that phone lines have to be 100% correct for ADSL to run well on extentions - especially at the speed ur getting

      ur gonna have to try it in the master socket (even if its only for a day or something), or buy a longer ethernet cable, and see if it helps but id be almost certain it would.....also, turn off UPnP as this is also known to cause issues

      Thank you i'll take alook and move my computer downstairs and try it in there . Master slocket is a big plate with 2 screws 1 either side of the slot isn't it?


      Also whats the deal with my light keep flickering while the computer is off the one next to the number1 light the line light i think?


      Thanks again

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      that's normal, the router will always be sending/receiving info as its always connected.....

      EDIT: and yeah, the master will be the 1st point of entry for your phone line (usually by the front door). If it has a line running through it with the screws/socket below this then you have an NTE-5 socket which has a test socket inside it (which may also be worth trying) - give it a go and see what happens...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      matrixsc's Avatar
      matrixsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGLNFI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      that's normal, the router will always be sending/receiving info as its always connected.....

      EDIT: and yeah, the master will be the 1st point of entry for your phone line (usually by the front door). If it has a line running through it with the screws/socket below this then you have an NTE-5 socket which has a test socket inside it (which may also be worth trying) - give it a go and see what happens...

      Thanks alot for your help i'l look into this tomorrow when i get up or thursday ( ojn nights this week)

      Hopefully this will solve the problem only thing then is how on earth i'm going to run a 20/30meter ethernet cable from there to my office upstairs!

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      you could go wireless but personally i wouldn't recommend it - my setup is router and surface mounted network sockets (with ethernet) in 3 rooms round the house but that was just my choice.....worked a treat though, and with the advice here about filtered-faceplates ive made my connection stable
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      matrixsc's Avatar
      matrixsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGLNFI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      you could go wireless but personally i wouldn't recommend it - my setup is router and surface mounted network sockets (with ethernet) in 3 rooms round the house but that was just my choice.....worked a treat though, and with the advice here about filtered-faceplates ive made my connection stable
      Yeah i don't the idea of wireless and from what i've read i'm better off staying wired if i can.


      Hopefully i can work somethig out if this works on the master socket.

     

     
    Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION