Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst ... 78910 LastLast
    Results 81 to 90 of 95

    Router problems or something else having problems

    This is a discussion on Router problems or something else having problems within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Glad to hear you got to the bottom of it! nice speeds...

    1. #81
      isohunter's Avatar
      isohunter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Guildford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      Glad to hear you got to the bottom of it!

      nice speeds


    2. Advertisement
    3. #82
      matrixsc's Avatar
      matrixsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGLNFI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      Maplins do do 25m ethernet IIRC but you should be able to get a custom length made up from a decent PC store....

      looks like all's sorted now tho in terms of where the issue was - enjoy the speed. I only get around 2MB and i think it's fast so god knows what it'd be like with 16MB!!!!
      I didn't see a 25meter ethernet on there web site i think i'll pop down there tomorrow it's not to far for me to our local one.

      Thanks for your help on the problem

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I think what all are interested in is the download speed you can achieve with your existing set -up. Go HERE and test your speed and post your result.

      Using a long ethernet cable as opposed to a modem cable will only allow you to connect 1 PC, unless you use a switch. Modem cables seem to only be available up to 20m, this may be the maximum recommended length, I am not sure. If it isn't then it should be possible to join two cables with a coupler to give you the length you require.

      I still think using the spare wires in your cat5 cable to provide a dedicated socket could be the best, and tidiest solution.
      I'll be posting my speeds tomorrow when i get up after my night shift now.

      I was thinking i'd be better off leaving the router downstairs and just running a ethernet cable to the office.

      Ok i might not be getting something here about using the spare cat 5 cable what do you mean and is there any web sites about this?


      Thanks for you help

    4. #83
      matrixsc's Avatar
      matrixsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGLNFI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      Quote Originally Posted by isohunter View Post
      Glad to hear you got to the bottom of it!

      nice speeds

      Only solved with the help of people here thank you for your time and advice and helping me out.


      Scott.

    5. #84
      isohunter's Avatar
      isohunter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Guildford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      if you can't find one

      i can make one up for you on the cheap

      have some cate5 cable left from a cabling job the other day

      ISO

    6. #85
      matrixsc's Avatar
      matrixsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGLNFI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      Quote Originally Posted by isohunter View Post
      if you can't find one

      i can make one up for you on the cheap

      have some cate5 cable left from a cabling job the other day

      ISO

      Thank you very much for that ISO

      I think i may have found on is this the right one i need?
      Maplin > CAT 5 UTP Patch Cables
      As they have some in stock at my local branch


      Thanks agian

      Scott..

    7. #86
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      Maplin > Category 6 Networking Cable with RJ45 Connectors

      ^ thats what i'd get, if they have it in stock at ur local....or eBay, got loads on there but of course u gotta wait on delivery
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #87
      matrixsc's Avatar
      matrixsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGLNFI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      Maplin > Category 6 Networking Cable with RJ45 Connectors

      ^ thats what i'd get, if they have it in stock at ur local....or eBay, got loads on there but of course u gotta wait on delivery


      Ok going to sound realy thick here whats the differance from the cat 5 and that cat 6 one.?

      They have 2 in stock

      Thanks.

    9. #88
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      personally, ive NO idea - lol!!!

      google it i guess, but id assume 6 is better than 5 - either will d the job tho....

      did u have a test socket behind that blank faceplate btw?...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #89
      matrixsc's Avatar
      matrixsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGLNFI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      personally, ive NO idea - lol!!!

      google it i guess, but id assume 6 is better than 5 - either will d the job tho....

      did u have a test socket behind that blank faceplate btw?...


      Ah ok found out :-

      Q) What are the advantages of using Cat 6 cables over Cat 5e? - Gerry
      A) A Fully compliant Cat6 network supports 1000Mbps Cat5e supports 100Mbps Max


      Yeah the socket was there it seems my front master face socket plugged into when i took it off so just plugged my micro filter in it and as you can see today my speeds were alot better!

      So i'm going to use that socket now

    11. #90
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      all u need is the XTE-2005 filtered faceplate which i recommend 100% - i have one and it's made my connection rock solid so i was well happy. Also helped i could get hold of the tool to crimp the wires in from my neighbour as he's ex-BT so had one lying around but defo worth it!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst ... 78910 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION