Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast
    Results 71 to 80 of 95

    Router problems or something else having problems

    This is a discussion on Router problems or something else having problems within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Originally Posted by richone54 i dont think any use of "telephone extension" should be used as this will degrade the ...

    1. #71
      matrixsc's Avatar
      matrixsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGLNFI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      i dont think any use of "telephone extension" should be used as this will degrade the line.

      i think i will leave the wiring questions to someone better suited than i (I'm rubbish with wires)

      only other thing i have been thinking about is the new things you can buy that plug into the mains by the router (at master socket) and a second one plugs in near to your computer, you then link the cables from soket to router & socket to computer (i think the signal is then sent through your mains ring ?)
      dont know if these are any good but had a look in PC world today and they are priced from about 45 - 100

      i am just waffling now so will go and have a ciggie in the garden
      You don't have a link for that do you?


      So would i be best off just having a RJ11 to RJ11 Telephone 20 meter cable. As at the moment i have the router and pc next to the master socket and need to move the computer back up to the office upstairs.

      I take it ( i know your no wire master) that the ethernet cable wouldn't lose any signal though?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #72
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      Hi Scott,


      link is :
      PC_World - Powerline Home Networking

      i do not know anyone who has any of the above which is normaly the best way to find out if any good


      i think the cable from router downstairs to comp upstairs should be a Cat 5, more info on cabling and faceplate forum (in forums on top left of site)

    4. #73
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      The faceplate is very easy to fit, you just have to remove the wires from the existing plate and put them on the same numbered terminals on the new one. The new plate also has terminals for extending the ADSL connection and as I already said, these can be used with the spare wires in the Cat5 cable to provide another ADSL outlet. When, if you order a faceplate order an IDC tool with it. Although not really needed, they cost only a few pence and there is less danger of damaging the wires, which you can do using a screwdriver. The ADSL nation site seems to be down at the moment so I can;t give you a link, but THIS is the sort of thing you need. You can get them at any B & Q store.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #74
      matrixsc's Avatar
      matrixsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGLNFI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      Hi Scott,


      link is :
      PC_World - Powerline Home Networking

      i do not know anyone who has any of the above which is normaly the best way to find out if any good


      i think the cable from router downstairs to comp upstairs should be a Cat 5, more info on cabling and faceplate forum (in forums on top left of site)
      Uhmm i've never seen them before i wonder how good they are ?
      The fact that i seem to have everything ( hoping! ) working good in the connection of the master socket makes me think i just want to use that socket now pretty much as i have it now micro filter in the socket then answer phone hooked up to the micro filter and next to it the the modem cable.

      So i guess i just need to find out if i can get anything bigger tan a 20 meter modem cab;e or a cat 5 cable?




      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The faceplate is very easy to fit, you just have to remove the wires from the existing plate and put them on the same numbered terminals on the new one. The new plate also has terminals for extending the ADSL connection and as I already said, these can be used with the spare wires in the Cat5 cable to provide another ADSL outlet. When, if you order a faceplate order an IDC tool with it. Although not really needed, they cost only a few pence and there is less danger of damaging the wires, which you can do using a screwdriver. The ADSL nation site seems to be down at the moment so I can;t give you a link, but THIS is the sort of thing you need. You can get them at any B & Q store.

      I can't get that link to work but i know what you mean as seen one last night on thesite while i was looking around i think this is a good option and it's the same really as i have it at the moment with the micro filter fitted in the master socket.

      As said above i just need to find somewhere with 20+ meter cable as i'm sure i'm going to need around 25/30meters.

      Would this be any good Maplin > A43AW cat 5 cable?
      Last edited by matrixsc; 07-09-07 at 06:37 PM.

    6. #75
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      just out of intrest, how good is it syncing at 16meg !! i only manage about 3 and am very jelous

    7. #76
      matrixsc's Avatar
      matrixsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGLNFI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      just out of intrest, how good is it syncing at 16meg !! i only manage about 3 and am very jelous
      Where do i find that out?


      here's my latest stats to :-


      Code:
      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime  Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 16381 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode:			ADSL2+
      Channel:		Fast
      Trellis:		ON
      Line Status:		No Defect
      Training Status:	Showtime
      		Down		Up
      SNR (dB):	7.2		13.5
      Attn(dB):	24.5		13.9
      Pwr(dBm):	1.3		12.4
      Max(Kbps):	16268		864
      Rate (Kbps):	16381		764
      			G.dmt framing
      K:		47(0)		24
      R:		12		16
      S:		1		8
      D:		0		8
      			ADSL2 framing
      MSGc:		58		68
      B:		46		23
      M:		1		8
      T:		11		1
      R:		12		16
      S:		0.0916		7.7037
      L:		5151		216
      D:		256		8
      			Counters
      SF:		2692145		2692143
      SFErr:		1		3
      RS:		1895270424		22883215
      RSCorr:		42783		132
      RSUnCorr:	1		0
      
      HEC:		1		3
      OCD:		0		0
      LCD:		0		0
      Total Cells:	1677468409		78247855
      Data Cells:	97561309		4106675
      Drop Cells:	0
      Bit Errors:	0		0
      
      ES:		1		3
      SES:		0		0
      UAS:		28		303
      Total time = 12 hours 4 min 25 sec
      SF  = 2692145
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 1
      Latest 1 day time = 12 hours 4 min 25 sec
      SF  = 2692145
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 1
      Latest 15 minutes time = 4 min 25 sec
      SF  = 16490
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 55795
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF  = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 55794
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 55857
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 55794
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 0

    8. #77
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      still no errors, it makes all the mucking around orth it

      SNR (dB): 7.2 13.5
      Attn(dB): 24.5 13.9
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 16268 864
      Rate (Kbps): 16381 764


      will also be able to see you sync speed on your router (router status page, down at bottom is show statistics button which will bring up)

    9. #78
      matrixsc's Avatar
      matrixsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGLNFI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      still no errors, it makes all the mucking around orth it

      SNR (dB): 7.2 13.5
      Attn(dB): 24.5 13.9
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 16268 864
      Rate (Kbps): 16381 764


      will also be able to see you sync speed on your router (router status page, down at bottom is show statistics button which will bring up)
      Yeah it does make it all worth it i just hope when i put either a ethernet cable or a modem cable (maybe tomorrow if i get time) from the master socket back up to the offie it still runs fine.

      I can't find anywhere that sells more than 20 meters atm. I'm wondering if my local maplins maybe able to make one up for me as i need to come out of the side of the house ( left hand dinning room wall) then up to the roof in to the attic and back down into the office i'm sure thats going to be omre than 20meters.

    10. #79
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      Maplins do do 25m ethernet IIRC but you should be able to get a custom length made up from a decent PC store....

      looks like all's sorted now tho in terms of where the issue was - enjoy the speed. I only get around 2MB and i think it's fast so god knows what it'd be like with 16MB!!!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #80
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      I think what all are interested in is the download speed you can achieve with your existing set -up. Go HERE and test your speed and post your result.

      Using a long ethernet cable as opposed to a modem cable will only allow you to connect 1 PC, unless you use a switch. Modem cables seem to only be available up to 20m, this may be the maximum recommended length, I am not sure. If it isn't then it should be possible to join two cables with a coupler to give you the length you require.

      I still think using the spare wires in your cat5 cable to provide a dedicated socket could be the best, and tidiest solution.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION