Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 95

    Router problems or something else having problems

    This is a discussion on Router problems or something else having problems within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy errors are back so if router is back on the extention then thats where the issue ...

    1. #41
      matrixsc's Avatar
      matrixsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGLNFI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      errors are back so if router is back on the extention then thats where the issue lies im afraid....

      extentions are notoriously bad for adsl, expecially at the speeds you're at so id personally recommend leaving router down in master and running an ethernet cable up to the PC or go wireless and lose a bit of speed....

      I'd recommend reading the 'sticky' threads in each of the forums, expecially the ones in the cabling/faceplate forum, as they'll explain common fauls/misunderstandings and how to fix them rather than me repeat them al here...


      Ok scott here from work.


      No i left it in the dinning room on the master socket ( i've not changed anything since things seemed better) and all was well. I switched the pc off and asked my wife to download a 100meg file i'd set up from a news server just to make sure things were ok. Then she rang me that it was downloading slow again.


      I don't know whats up i was please that things seemed sorted but now there not whats wrong?



      Well fed up about this now!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      are u sure he socket ur using is ur master? chances are if the wiring is old then it might be worth getting a new socket fitted - but it'll cost a fair bit.

      In theory, your line shouldn't be giving you any issues but obvously is!!! Don't ring Sky as it's nothing they can sort out short of capping ur line to gdmt/8MB and you can do that urself (maybe give it a go)...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #43
      matrixsc's Avatar
      matrixsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGLNFI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      are u sure he socket ur using is ur master? chances are if the wiring is old then it might be worth getting a new socket fitted - but it'll cost a fair bit.

      In theory, your line shouldn't be giving you any issues but obvously is!!! Don't ring Sky as it's nothing they can sort out short of capping ur line to gdmt/8MB and you can do that urself (maybe give it a go)...
      Yep it's master socket alright as the other side of the wall the metal plate is on in the open porch of the house where the line come in.


      I just don't get why it's gone all over the place again? after how well it had done this afternoon.

      And it's not like i'm along way away from the exhange i'm only 400/500 meters away.

      What can BT do about it anyway?The house is just over 10 years old or around there. Would a new socket maye a huge differance?
      Last edited by matrixsc; 06-09-07 at 11:55 PM.

    5. #44
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      i think you have already tried this but have you used the test socket

      see -http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-master.html

    6. #45
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      he doesnt have one (i posted up a picture of one on page 3) - is wire 3 still connected? if so, yank that out of he socket and any extention u have (it's the old ringer wire needed for old crap phones that were too dumb to ring by themselves!!!)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #46
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      Whoops,


      my house is about 90 years old, when i got broadband had lots of problem with disconnects, turned out i did not have a master socket. phoned BT and they came out and fitted one at no cost ! (on the phone they did advise if it was a problem my end and i was just being a bit thick they would charge me)

      not sure if you could not do the same ? i would have thought new style master socket would be in 10 year old house

    8. #47
      matrixsc's Avatar
      matrixsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGLNFI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      he doesnt have one (i posted up a picture of one on page 3) - is wire 3 still connected? if so, yank that out of he socket and any extention u have (it's the old ringer wire needed for old crap phones that were too dumb to ring by themselves!!!)


      I have no extentions connected and wire 3 has been pulled out and pushed at the back so it's not touching anything. *Sighs*

    9. #48
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      also, dont you have to take the orange wire out of all sockets ?

    10. #49
      matrixsc's Avatar
      matrixsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGLNFI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      also, dont you have to take the orange wire out of all sockets ?

      Out of all sockets even if they aren't connected?

      Uhmmm now thats got me thinking that from my master socket in the dinning room i have another socket on the other wall thats a extention which must some how run from that master socket in some way though i don't see how.

      Maybe i need to take the orange cable out of that to?


      What i mean is the right hand side wall has the master socket but the left wall has another socket box that then has a line plugged into that ( splitter i think) that runs outside and up the wall to the master bed room. Then from there a splitter is in it that runs back outside and to the back of the house to our office.


      Not sure if UPnP is on or off atm either
      Last edited by matrixsc; 07-09-07 at 12:55 AM.

    11. #50
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Router problems or something else having problems

      hi matrix,

      just been checking about the wire, and from what i can tell it does only need to come out of the master socket - while looking for this and also your comment about the other socket, does the socket you took the orage wire out of have a capacitor ?

      have a look at web address below just to see if you see the socket pic you have on there (there seems to be 2 older style master sockets which do not have test connectors in)

      below is apage on rewiring, but handy to check pis and see sockets


      Guide to rewiring internal UK phone wiring

     

     
    Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION