Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    This bl**dy router's driving me crazy

    This is a discussion on This bl**dy router's driving me crazy within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; <a href="http://www.speedtest.net"><img src="http://www.speedtest.net/result/181682481.png"></a> The above was done at 7pm tonight using a 2wire USB wireless link to my Netgear router ...

    1. #1
      dancingdog777's Avatar
      dancingdog777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      This bl**dy router's driving me crazy

      <a href="http://www.speedtest.net"><img src="http://www.speedtest.net/result/181682481.png"></a>
      The above was done at 7pm tonight using a 2wire USB wireless link to my Netgear router supplied by Sky last January. I usually use an ethernet link but tonight I'm trying just wireless to see if that works better.
      The problem is that the router just keeps dropping the signal and since being shifted from Connect to Mid the problem has got much worse.
      This router has always been a pain since the word Go and although I've followed all the suggestions in these forums, (ie, Mognuts Utility, turning off UPnP, running TCP Optimiser and using Mosseywell's Bounce program), and followed all of Tier 3's suggestions( moving the router as close as poss to the extension and using a longer ethernet cable) it's still losing the signal. I even got BT to check all of my sockets as well as their's (mega bill!). Please can some kind soul help me? When it's working it's brilliant but it loses the signal about every 30 minutes.
      BTW, I'm 1.5 km from my local BT exchange.
      One other piece of info - when I pull the plug out to re-boot the router, it takes about 3 minutes between when the line light turns green again for me to be able to access the internet.

      As a test I used my old Thomson Speed Touch USB yesterday and got an immediate 6.5Mb connection which was rock steady for several hours.
      Last edited by dancingdog777; 03-09-07 at 08:23 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: This bl**dy router's driving me crazy

      so ur still using an extention socket? if so, there lies ur problem...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      dancingdog777's Avatar
      dancingdog777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: This bl**dy router's driving me crazy

      Yeah, the house was wired by Bt over 20 yrs ago and my master socket doesn't have a removable plate to plug into.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: This bl**dy router's driving me crazy

      chances are then you need ur house rewired.....have you tried it in the master direct? seeing as ur trying wireless it should help in the short term but it would seem Sky aren't at fault here...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      dancingdog777's Avatar
      dancingdog777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: This bl**dy router's driving me crazy

      There's no power supply near it, it's in the furthest, darkest corner of my loft.
      As a matter of interest, your member logo thing shows that you're not with Sky but with BT broadband. Have you just switched or what makes you an expert on Sky?


      Also why does the speed test show my ISP as easynet when it should be Sky?
      Last edited by dancingdog777; 03-09-07 at 09:35 PM.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: This bl**dy router's driving me crazy

      He is 'with' Sky but not for broadband, If you know what I mean

      It would really be in your interest to have a proper Master Socket fitted. I am surprised that BT checked your sockets and left an obsolete Master Socket in place. It makes me wonder what they actually checked.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      dancingdog777's Avatar
      dancingdog777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: This bl**dy router's driving me crazy

      I wondered why he was so quick to say "It's not Sky's fault"!

      BT came in because I fiddled with the wires and the house phone stopped working! Shame really 'cos broadband worked fine. My wifey said it took the engineer about two hours to find the master socket.

      Followed the link on your reply to find out who my ISP is:
      IP country: United Kingdom
      IP address state: Rutland
      IP address city: Oakham
      IP latitude: 52.6667
      IP longitude: -0.7333
      Your ISP [?]: Easynet
      Organization: Easynet
      Host: 5acba259.bb.sky.com
      Local Time: 2007-09-03 23:22

      More about you and your system:
      Speed: Cable/DSL
      Browser: Mozilla Firefox 2.0
      Operating System: WinXP

      And I really live in Bournemouth, Dorset.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: This bl**dy router's driving me crazy

      Missed your last question, Sky took over Easynet to give them access to a ready made network, rather than start from scratch.

      The locator is not very accurate, it seldom puts you in the right place. It puts me in another town about 18 miles away.
      Last edited by Isitme; 05-09-07 at 03:48 PM. Reason: typo

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: This bl**dy router's driving me crazy

      Hi there,


      this may not be practical but you should get bt to put a master socket in
      (i am suprised they did not do this before)
      the extension you are using will cause lots of problems (when i first had BB i had it off an extenstion and worked fine, but had a power surge and after had nohing but noise, was ok for phone but not BB)

    11. #10
      puretoon's Avatar
      puretoon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEGF
      Broadband ISP: o2
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Newcastle upon Tyne
      Posts
      122
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: This bl**dy router's driving me crazy

      They could well be right about the ext as it was blamed for my bad connection too.

      I'm wired and always have been but was using an old telephone ext lead, so have moved my router downstairs plugging it into the master socket and run a 20 mt ethernet cable from that to upstairs to my pc.

      I agree about BT-they should have fitted a master socket when checking things over and considering they're charging you enough, I'd demand it.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION