Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    A couple of queries

    This is a discussion on A couple of queries within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, Got set up with Sky BB a couple of days ago and this forum has been invaluable for getting ...

    1. #1
      michelob (flying snowman)'s Avatar
      michelob (flying snowman) is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Larbert
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question A couple of queries

      Hi,

      Got set up with Sky BB a couple of days ago and this forum has been invaluable for getting my connection optimised. Was only getting 1.9mbps until I ran tcpoptimizer but now i'm up to 5.5mbps. Thanks.

      However i've still got a couple of queries I would really appreciate some help with. I'm a bit of a novice so be gentle if a any of my assumptions are wildly inaccurate.

      1) My potential connection speed.
      Before I ordered I had every intention of getting the max package. I watch multiple streaming live sports video and a fast connection is great for this. However when I put my phone no into the bb checker it said my line could only reach 6mbps. Therefore on skys advice I got the mid package.

      I found this strange though since i'm only 500m or so from the exchange and I thought surely i can get higher. This was backed up yesterday when i looked at my router stats...

      System Up Time 07:23:23
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 109537 103072 0 692 4838 07:22:34
      LAN 10M/100M 1155 0 0 4 0 07:23:21
      WLAN 11M/54M/108M 104922 166813 0 4898 783 07:23:11

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.0 db 18.0 db
      Noise Margin 8.1 db 13.0 db


      My line attenuation is only 28.0db, which when put into the adsl2+ checker, suggests my line is capable of 12-14mbps, which is what i expected ???

      So my question is, if I upgraded to the max package would I see this increase (or some kind of increase) or am I just wasting my time? I'm a bit confused.

      2) My wireless range
      I've just moved into a new house, the sky router is connected to the main bt socket in the lounge and both upstairs and downstairs on that side of the house i get a great signal even as far a 50ft from the router. However on the other side of the house where the kitchen, utility and two bedrooms are the signal is patchy and my speed drops as low as 300kbps.

      Whats confusing me about this is that where it is patchy it is much closer in distance to where i get a great signal 50ft away. I think this might have to do with the fact that on that side of the house we have a double integral garage so the sides are split by a thick brick wall but I didnt expect that drop off to be quite so bad.

      I'm looking for advice on how to sort this. In my previous flat I had virgin cable bb where i used a linksys 54g wireless router connected to my cable modem. Is there any way i could frig this to reuse it as an additional access point in conjunction with the sky netgear router?

      If not, can anyone recommend a good wireless range extender for use with sky broadband?


      Sorry for the length but as I said i'd be grateful for any advice/help on either of these issues. Thanks.
      Last edited by michelob (flying snowman); 16-08-07 at 02:10 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: A couple of queries

      In answer to your first question with that att you should potenetially be able to get the full 16meg. However this would be down to the level of errors on your line. You can get your line stats using the following, post them here and someone will advise.
      Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4
      Sorry cant help with the wireless extender thingy, I dont use wireless tho I'm sure someone will help.


    4. #3
      michelob (flying snowman)'s Avatar
      michelob (flying snowman) is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Larbert
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up Re: A couple of queries

      Here are my line stats... The downsteam speed has gone down a bit maily as the noise level has gone up in the last couple of hours i think...


      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5120 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 17.4 13.0
      Attn(dB): 28.0 18.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.6 0.8
      Max(Kbps): 5728 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 5120 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 161(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 14
      M: 1 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 17.0666
      L: 2040 120
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 316699 316697
      SFErr: 435 0
      RS: 21535564 1345962
      RSCorr: 1134471 72
      RSUnCorr: 500 0

      HEC: 278 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 65014503 0
      Data Cells: 707633 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 203 0
      SES: 47 0
      UAS: 37 0
      Total time = 8 hours 54 min 5 sec
      SF = 1881851
      CRC = 2636
      LOS = 214
      LOF = 0
      ES = 203
      Latest 1 day time = 8 hours 54 min 5 sec
      SF = 1881851
      CRC = 2636
      LOS = 214
      LOF = 0
      ES = 203
      Latest 15 minutes time = 9 min 5 sec
      SF = 32111
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    5. #4
      michelob (flying snowman)'s Avatar
      michelob (flying snowman) is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Larbert
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: A couple of queries

      I resyched my modem due to the dropoff and its now back up to what it was before...

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7616 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.0 db 18.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.6 db 14.0 db

    6. #5
      michelob (flying snowman)'s Avatar
      michelob (flying snowman) is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Larbert
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: A couple of queries

      anyone able to help here?

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: A couple of queries

      Your attenuation will support ~16meg in theory. However, your line is noisy as shown by your noise margin (should be much higher as you're capped at 8096kbps), your low sync speed and the number of errors showing in your stats. It is particularly worrying that your noise margin changed so dramatically between stats.

      So at the moment, switching would give no extra speed. Fix the line issues and you'd be fine.

      With your wireless problem, is running an ethernet cable not possible? You'd get better results, it's more secure and a lot less money than buying an extender.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION