Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 23

    Dg834gt

    This is a discussion on Dg834gt within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, I have recently signed up foy Sky max, and when i recieved my netgear router, i experienced the internet ...

    1. #1
      spawnyuk's Avatar
      spawnyuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redruth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Dg834gt

      Hi,
      I have recently signed up foy Sky max, and when i recieved my netgear router, i experienced the internet connection dropping off.

      Symptom
      Network Still present.
      Router still showing all lights as green.
      But.
      No internet connection, althought both the router says it has a connection, my xp network devices having a connection.

      Things i have done to try and resolve this issue.

      1)Reset the Router multiple times.....(today has been extremely bad. 7 times in the last 5 hours.

      2)Replaced the 1 Master Socket filter... its the only phone socket in the house 3 times over, with filters provided from sky and my own filters.

      3)Removed the windows firewall thinking it might have something to do with it.

      4)I now have fitted the Router stand to increase cooling to the box hoping this might be the fault.

      Network setup is as follow......

      Master Socket -> Filter -> dslcable -> Router -> Ethernet running upstairs to a Network exchange into my office.

      As far as im aware i have done everything i can to try and prevent the symptons, only thing left is to flash the firmware or ring BT about my line..

      (just to add, I tried flashing my first SKY netgear, upon fragging it, got a replacement....)

      Please help, as its frustrating......

      many thanks..
      Jsmith.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Dg834gt

      Shame you didn't have a quick read of the forum before messing around with your filters/firewall etc.

      If you had then you'll have seen that disconnections are not at all uncommon. The three most common reasons are (in order of likelihood):

      * The UPnP "bug" (turn it off in your router to fix it).
      * Falling noise margin (see first sticky in my signature).
      * A build up of line errors (post your stats).

      From your description, sounds like UPnP to me.
      Last edited by Saturday; 13-08-07 at 08:10 PM.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Dg834gt

      Also check your phone line for noise, see this thread as an example of what can happen-
      i find this odd

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      spawnyuk's Avatar
      spawnyuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redruth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dg834gt

      Hi guys me again.

      Update from yesterdays SAGA.

      as far as i was aware yesterday from when i turned uPnP off in the Router everything worked fine om the computer, BUT as far as i was aware, i had no other attached Network devices on or using data.
      In my front room i have a Xbox working as a media centre connected to the Netgear, and its streaming media from my main computer upstairs... everything works for half hour maybe then i lose all networks connections starts telling me invalid computer name.

      Is this because the uPnP is turned off it is have attatched device problems, because although they have all been assigned there own network ips it still does it i think.
      What i have done, is on the Xbox iinstead of the DHCP being auto assigned i have assigned it an ip now so maybe we had IP clashes which was causing the problem.....

      This problem is really annoying as its dropping the network and not just hte internet connection.

      Many future thanks....

      SPawnyuk.

    6. #5
      spawnyuk's Avatar
      spawnyuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redruth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dg834gt

      Hi guy's..... i thought of manually setting the ips of all machines in an attempt to stop the ip class of attatched device, but i lost it all, so i scrubbed myself back onto the Auto assign DHCP, its picked up now, so maybe i might be in luck or tomorrow is another. day...
      any advice on these network issues?

      many thanks..
      jsmith aka
      Spawnyuk

    7. #6
      spawnyuk's Avatar
      spawnyuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redruth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dg834gt

      in reference to the MTU setting, the software suggested to check the BEST MTU setting suggested 1492, so i adjusted it, havent had any probs at the minute but was getting regular Error 300.
      i know that that is poss down to SKY not havig enough IP's to go round or what, im a lil confused on my situation

    8. #7
      spawnyuk's Avatar
      spawnyuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redruth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dg834gt

      also in addition, if i was to Run -> CMD -> ipconfig /all on my primary system
      it comes up with results of
      --------------------------
      Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
      (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

      C:\Documents and Settings\Spawnyuk>ipconfig /all

      Windows IP Configuration

      Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : jamie
      Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
      Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
      IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
      WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

      Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
      Description . . . . . . . . . . . : MSI/Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated
      Controller
      Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-76-3D-74-53
      Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
      Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
      IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
      Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
      Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
      DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
      DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
      Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 15 August 2007 14:38:37
      Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 18 August 2007 14:38:37

      C:\Documents and Settings\Spawnyuk>

      the thing that stands out is
      Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
      is there a way to resolve this issue

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Dg834gt


      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      spawnyuk's Avatar
      spawnyuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redruth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dg834gt

      yep, ok, but what if i cant find that reg key..

      To resolve this issue, use Registry Editor (Regedit.exe) to locate the following key in the registry:

      HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\Netbt\Parameters\

      Change the value of the EnableProxy value in the preceding registry key to 0 or 1, quit Registry Editor, and then restart your computer.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Dg834gt

      To be honest, I don't think it is anything to worry about, this seems to be the default in XP Home anyway. In Vista Home, it is Hybrid. What problem do you think it is causing?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION