Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    sky router

    This is a discussion on sky router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; thanks for your help mate i really do apreciate it im just a bit confused as to why sky are ...

    1. #11
      pctech's Avatar
      pctech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wink Re: sky router

      thanks for your help mate i really do apreciate it im just a bit confused as to why sky are saying im getting up to 13mb i know you never do but i think its a good loss dont you
      but once again many thanks for your time and help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: sky router

      Could simply be that Sky did something wrong when they were estimating your speed, who knows. These things happen. Sky normally quote considerably on the low side. They said I would get 3Mb and I get over 6Mb. They normally do the speed check based on your phone number..... could they have used a different phone number to the one you are actually connected through (did you call from another phone line when booking?)

      You may be able to get more if you find the BT master socket, remove the faceplate and plug the filter and router into the socket underneath the faceplate, but i cant see you getting up to 13Mb.

    4. #13
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: sky router

      If you've read the stickies as suggested then you'll know that your attenuation at 41db is around the threshold for favouring ADSL2+ over G.DMT. If you had a relatively noise free line you could hope for ~10500kbps. However, your line isn't noise free looking at your sync rate and your stats which show a high number of errors. If you fix the line noise, then staying on ADSL2+ will probably be OK, otherwise I'd suggest you change mode to G.DMT which will give you a much more stable connection. If you don't fix that line noise and you stay on ADSL2+ then you will get problems.

      No idea why Sky told you 13meg with your line.

    5. #14
      pctech's Avatar
      pctech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: sky router

      i would like to thank you all for your help i have checked my main socket again and it looks as if thire may be a problem with it i never looked very close at it the first time but iv notice thire are some old wires and new wires going in to the main part when its dismanteld so ill give it some more attention tomorrow but thanks you have been a help.
      when i gained my networking deploma i never did much work on the router side it was more windows mcse based setting up acses rights and policeys and identyfiying network structures and cabaling so to be honest the router did throw me a good bit abviousle the new mcse would deal with this better many thanks once again

    6. #15
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: sky router

      If you have an NTE5 master socket which is the one with the test socket behind the face plate then plug your router into the test socket and try it there, this should disconnect any extension wiring hence proving if that is causing a problem. Also ensure only pins 2 and 5 are connected in all sockets any other wires that are connected may cause line noise.

    7. #16
      pctech's Avatar
      pctech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool Re: sky router

      hi i have just finished testing the master socket and for some reason some one had put the 3 extensions right in to where bt wire it from out side so i disconected them and tryed it again only to find im still getting 6mb and i only live 2mile from the exchange i have phoned sky again and they have said thats all i will ever get which is a difrent story from when i bought it from them and its less than i was getting from bt they have told me to refresh my harddrive which is nonsence at best all id need to do is delet cookies and history. i must say im not impresed with sky at all they have been no help with this.

    8. #17
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: sky router

      I think that's a bit unfair as the problems all sound to be at your end after the BT cable enters your house. Not a lot sky or anyone else for that matter can do to help without actually being on site.

      Sky's remit is to rpovide the service to your door, what happens after that is for you to sort.

      Remember ADSL2+ is a different technology to ADSLMax so you cant compare the 2.

    9. #18
      pctech's Avatar
      pctech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: sky router

      im happy sky phoned back 5 min ago and have said that it had been caped at just over 9mb they have since looked at the exchange and rectified the problem and my internet is fixed with a much better. i am downloading at 1mb down load which is better than 600kb so i take back what i said about sky they do try thire best for thire customers

    10. #19
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky router

      Are you still using wireless? You really need to try using an ethernet connection.

    11. #20
      pctech's Avatar
      pctech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky router

      i never use wireless well i do but very ocasionaly when i use my laptop
      most of the time i use ethernet
      on all my computers but since sky was intouch i have tested my wirless and my other pc's and its been a huge difrence in downloads and windows updates

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION