Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    Problems with Messenger

    This is a discussion on Problems with Messenger within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hey, i've had sky broadband for about 6 months now. For the first few months i had no problems at ...

    1. #1
      Devilish.Charms's Avatar
      Devilish.Charms is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      County Durham
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Problems with Messenger

      Hey, i've had sky broadband for about 6 months now. For the first few months i had no problems at all, all working smoothly. Howver, the past couple of months its got down hill big time :| i have a really intermitent connection, it wont stay online for long periods of times. I use messengers services alot to keep in touch with friends. When im logged into msn and yahoo messenger it will boot me from them for no reason at all. I never used to get this problem at all before, i could stay online fo days no problems, but now....im lucky if i get for a few hours without either my messegners booting me off or the net just cutting off or being awfully slow. My download speeds can vary too. In order to get my messengers back online i have to log into the router settings and click "apply" on the firewall rules. If i do this i can then log back into my messegners, along with my internet working fine again. I can also reset the router, that seems to help. Like any of you i assume, you don't really want to have to do this all the time. I have tried emailing them but Im finding them really hard work in, slow to reply to emails, if at all. My phone lines are fine as i had a BT engineer out not long back to re do all the wires and place new boxes at the phone socket, he then give me my own internet box for my room which he connected up. He ran the wire from the main socket up to this new box he fitted, which has its own built in filter. He also said he used the best possible cable for the internet. I went into my router and got the detailed modem details incase anyone who could help needed them...

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 16.1 14.0
      Attn(dB): 24.0 16.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.5 7.9
      Max(Kbps): 11264 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 7020751 7020749
      SFErr: 0 58
      RS: 954822164 59676366
      RSCorr: 331 338
      RSUnCorr: 0 0
      HEC: 0 46
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 2278961612 0
      Data Cells: 57343574 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0
      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 1 days 9 hours 9 min 41 sec
      SF = 7020751
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 9 hours 9 min 41 sec
      SF = 1940077
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 9 min 41 sec
      SF = 34170
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5080674
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      Not sure what other info would be required to someone who could help...apart from that im on windows xp and have the sky broadband max connection.

      Any help would be appreciated thanks



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Bad connection :( any help

      Your router stats are fine - apart from the fact your sync speed has been capped by Sky to 8096kbps - but that's another subject altogether.

      Starting with the most obvious thing. Have you turned off UPnP in the router? If not go to the router admin pages and untick UPnP, click apply and reboot the router.

    4. #3
      Devilish.Charms's Avatar
      Devilish.Charms is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      County Durham
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bad connection :( any help

      Yes, UPnP has been turned off in the router settings.


    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Bad connection :( any help

      Well there's no line problems evident in your stats. I'm not sure from your post - are these general disconnections? If so I'd suspect a hardware fault: either your router/router cable or the exchange equipment. If it is just MSN etc then that's something else.

      On a separate note, please reduce the size and prominence of your signature image. Forum rules say: For images in signatures: 1 image up to 300 pixels wide, 125 pixels tall and 20k in size. Thanks.
      Last edited by Saturday; 30-07-07 at 12:02 AM.

    6. #5
      Devilish.Charms's Avatar
      Devilish.Charms is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      County Durham
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bad connection :( any help

      Ok sorry about the signiture. At the min it is my messengers, i just get booted off them within 10 mins and then my internet will dramatically slow down. I have just recently formatted my computer too so it must be some fault with my hardware like you have stated.

      Any ideas?


    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Bad connection :( any help

      Doubt it's hardware exactly. I seem to recall a problem reported with Messenger and the Sky router. Hopefully someone will pick up on this post that knows what the issue is. I've renamed the thread title to better reflect the problem.

    8. #7
      Devilish.Charms's Avatar
      Devilish.Charms is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      County Durham
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Messenger

      Its not just my messenger tho :| my net will dramatically slow down aswell :| Kinda odd tho in order to get it back working i have re apply the firewall rules on the router in order for it ro work again.


    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Problems with Messenger

      Yes, that is odd. I haven't come across that one before.

      Do you get the problem if you temporarily disable your firewall rules and any schedule you have set? As far as I'm aware MSN etc doesn't need port forwarding to work (at least it doesn't in our house - the kids would have shouted by now) so you should be able to test this.

    10. #9
      Devilish.Charms's Avatar
      Devilish.Charms is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      County Durham
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Messenger

      I have tried it turning the firewall totally off, no luck. Last night it was really bad, i couldnt stay on a messenger for no longer than 3/4 mins. I could not even get onto the majorty of websites i tried too. I tried calling sky for some help and the guy said he would put me through to tier 3 when i told him my problem, apparently they were busy so he said phone in 20mins time. I did this and had the same problem, no1 from tier 3 available...he said i can keep trying or wait for them to call me, which can take 3-5 days apparently...which aint really any good :|

      I Was thinking about possibly getting a new router, but last time i tried a one a friend lent me i wasnt sure on the username and password, do i have to phone sky up to get these details? cheers.


    11. #10
      Craga89's Avatar
      Craga89 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Linthorpe
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Re: Problems with Messenger

      Hi Devilish.Charms,

      I'm having the exact same problem. I called them up late last night, not being able to access many websites and had intermittent connections to many messenger protocols I was using at the time.

      The women advised me to plug the router into the master socket, but it did not seem to make any difference. I phoned back this morning and told them it had no effect, so they issued me a ticket ID and said they would pass it on through to "tier 3" or something similar for some sort of line maintenance. They also advised me it would take 3-5 working days, which is not acceptable in my opinion. Why should I pay 16 a month for a, sporadic at best, internet connection which will be off for nearly a quarter of the month?

      Not impressed in any shape. Any luck on your end since your last post? Thanks in advance,
      -Craig

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION