Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 43

    Router troubles.

    This is a discussion on Router troubles. within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Howdy, first post Right, since getting Sky i've had constant disconnects from the router (I'm using it wirelessly) I've tried ...

    1. #1
      Jordano's Avatar
      Jordano is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router troubles.

      Howdy, first post

      Right, since getting Sky i've had constant disconnects from the router (I'm using it wirelessly) I've tried using the fix in the sticky at the top of this page, and it did seem to work fairly well for a while, but the disconnects have reared their ugly head again and are now constantly DC'ing me every half hour, as you can imagine this makes it impossible to do much.

      Also the max speed I have ever had is 110 KB/S (I'm pretty sure we are on the limited connection, 40GB/month which I think is the mid package? until the full package becomes available in our area :>) Originally my noise margin was 6.0 and dropping to 5.5, this was all day everyday. A few days ago I used Mognuts utility to change it to 7 and then as I still got DC's I thought i'd try 8NM, and 8NM pushed me to a 1meg connection, with 7NM I had a 2meg connection.

      I'm still getting disconnects, and now i've no idea what else to try, so I come begging for help, as i'm fresh out of ideas.

      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Router troubles.

      1. Try wired to see if the problem is purely due to wireless issues
      2. What was the fix you tried as its not clear
      3. Switch off uPnP in the router web interface
      4. Post your full detailed router stats (use mognuts util)
      5. Post a speedtest using Namesco BroadbandMax ADSL Broadband Bandwidth speedtest | Test your ADSL Broadband connection speed

    4. #3
      Jordano's Avatar
      Jordano is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router troubles.

      Sorry if I was unclear, I meant that I'd already turned uPnP off and switched to Auto108Mbps as stated in the sticky

      Namesco BroadbandMax Bandwidth speedtest | Test your ADSL connection speed

      The speed test.

      I suppose it is not purely wireless, as my stepdad has the wired connection to the router, and he gets shafted occassionally too, but I get DC'd far more than he does.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 1760 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.4 18.0
      Attn(dB): 62.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 17.1 11.9
      Max(Kbps): 1792 904
      Rate (Kbps): 1760 448
      G.dmt framing
      K: 56(0) 15
      R: 0 0
      S: 1 1
      D: 1 1
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 93 15
      M: 1 1
      T: 1 1
      R: 0 0
      S: 1.0000 1.0000
      L: 752 128
      D: 1 1
      Counters
      SF: 43755 43753
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 0 0
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 3090293 0
      Data Cells: 120383 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 36 0
      Total time = 13 min 50 sec
      SF = 45754
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 13 min 50 sec
      SF = 45754
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 13 min 50 sec
      SF = 45754
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


      Copied and pasted from the cfg, i'm sorry if it's not formatted correctly, but I'm not sure what the correct formatting is ;p

      Thanks alot.

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Router troubles.

      okay, you are miiiilllllleeeessssss away from your exchange, but you should still be able to get at least 2Mb.

      I think for you wireless is the issue if your dad is connected to the same router ia wire and doesn't have as many DCs.

      The reason for the (wired) DCs is the NM dropping. You would need to use mognuts util and set the NM at say 9db, which will mean you lose more sync rate.

      To get a better sync rate, you need to try the TEST socket underneath the faceplate of the master socket (see my sig).

      Connect to the TEST socket and post your stats again and see how the DCs (for your Dad) go. If he still gets DCs, then set the NM to 9db.

      For yourself, you need to improve the wireless connection. Is the wireless adpater located near the PC box itself or other electrical equipment?

    6. #5
      Jordano's Avatar
      Jordano is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router troubles.

      If it's any help, Belkin : Wireless G USB Network Adapter

      Is the wireless adaptor i'm using.

      And aye, it's about 10cm away from the PC, and won't really go much further. The wireless router is downstairs and my PC is upstairs. Signal strength is usually 3/4 bars on the XP dialog box.

      I will give the faceplate thing a shot tomorrow, as everyone in my house is currently in bed and the socket thing is next to their bedroom. Thanks for all the help

      Will changing the NM not affect my wireless connection then?

    7. #6
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Router troubles.

      No NM just affects the sync rate, but if it drops below 7db, then you'll hit problems.

      Sky router stats (speed, noise, attenuation) explained

      sounds like you need a USB extension cable to get the wireless adapter further away from the PC. I had exactly that problem and found that the PC was giving off interference which giving the exact symptoms you have. Simply moving the adapter further away solved it!

    8. #7
      Jordano's Avatar
      Jordano is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router troubles.

      Without using mognuts utility, the average NM is about 5.8, varying between 5.5 & 6.1.

      I take it I should always use mognuts upon a router reboot and set it to 7 or 8? ;o

      And cheers, i'll get one tomorrow

    9. #8
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Router troubles.

      have a read of the post about Nm etc in my previous post.

      Read it tomorrow as there is a lot of info there, but it explains the NM and disconnections excellently.

      If you have any questions on it or bits that you dont understand, then post back.

      Bottom line is that whenever the NM drops below 7db, your connection will become unstable to the point where it disconnects and you have to manually reboot the router.

      When you set the NM, it is best to set it at about 8pm and set it to at least 8db, but pref 9db (the above link will explain why).

      As I say, this will lower your sync rate, but by using the TEST socket could gain any loss back... and some more. By using the test socket, my sync rate went up by 3 times!

    10. #9
      Jordano's Avatar
      Jordano is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router troubles.

      Quick question, my adaptor is already in a USB extension cable thing, so I moved it about a metre or so away from my PC, and my downstream speed just went bloody terrible, i tried doing several speed tests, and it was abysmal (300 kpbs, usually have 2000kbps) yet the upload remained the same.. and when i moved my adaptor back near my PC, the download speed was back to normal.

      This mean the extension cable is terrible or something? It came with the adaptor

    11. #10
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Router troubles.

      hmm, thats the problem with wireless.

      The wireless signal can be degraded (regardless what windows reports) by numerous factors:

      - other electrical equipment (ie Pc, TV, Phones, power cables in walls)
      - structures (ie walls, metal in walls etc)
      - Central heating bolier
      - microwaves being used

      Its a case of finding the best location and sometimes it may the best of a bad bunch. I use a laptop and if I sit 5 yrds away (but same straight line disatnce to the router), the connection goes really bad.

      If you can wire up an ethernet cable to the PC, then you would be far better off, but this is not always that easy.

      There are the new 'ethernet over power lines' adapters (http://www.netgear.co.uk/powerline_w...extenders.php), but these will still not be as good as proper cat5 cable from the router to the PC.
      Last edited by reddwarfcrew; 27-07-07 at 02:07 AM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION