Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Is Sky router ADSL2+

    This is a discussion on Is Sky router ADSL2+ within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Could anyone confirm that the supplied Sky router is ADSL2+ compatible. I have checked the specs on Netgears website, but ...

    1. #1
      julianfrancis's Avatar
      julianfrancis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newtown Llantwit
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is Sky router ADSL2+

      Could anyone confirm that the supplied Sky router is ADSL2+ compatible. I have checked the specs on Netgears website, but I cannot find any confirmation of it being ADSL2+ compatible. My connection is syncing at 8092 although I was expecting higher speeds. If the router is only ADSL that would explain it.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Is Sky router ADSL2+

      Yes it is ADSL2+ compatible.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Is Sky router ADSL2+

      Yes it is, I knows it 'cos I got it.
      But sometimes Sky don't put you on it.
      Have a look at your routerstats and all will be revealed.

      Should look like this:

      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 397 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8190 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 10.6 24.0
      Attn(dB): 45.5 27.2
      Pwr(dBm): 21.4 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 9432 464
      Rate (Kbps): 8190 397 etc.

      Use Mognuts or Mossywell to extract them.


    5. #4
      julianfrancis's Avatar
      julianfrancis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newtown Llantwit
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is Sky router ADSL2+

      Thanks all, will try to get Sky to switch me over.

    6. #5
      SimpleRules's Avatar
      SimpleRules is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      176
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is Sky router ADSL2+

      Why do Sky not put some people on ADSL2+?

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Is Sky router ADSL2+

      ADSL2+ offers speed benefits for short (low attenuation), good quality lines. For longer or poor quality lines there is no speed advantage over G.DMT and in many instances ADSL2+ will actually give a poorer performance.

    8. #7
      SimpleRules's Avatar
      SimpleRules is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      176
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is Sky router ADSL2+

      Ah I see, these are my stats, I think I am reasonably close as I get just under 7MB sync speeds (its been fluctuating a bit, it was 6800 until a few weeks ago when it went upto 7300 now its down again) and I've seen 700Kb/s download speeds, usually 600 though.

      Here are stats from my current router if it helps predict what I might get:
      Downstream Rate: 6752 Kbps
      Upstream Rate: 448 Kbps
      Downstream Margin: 14 db
      Upstream Margin: 26 db
      Downstream Line Attenuation: 30
      Upstream Line Attenuation: 15

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION