Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Can The Netgear Router Be Used As A Home Network Hub?

    This is a discussion on Can The Netgear Router Be Used As A Home Network Hub? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I've had Sky broadband for a while now, and except the problems of the router dropping the conection it is ...

    1. #1
      Cestria's Avatar
      Cestria is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can The Netgear Router Be Used As A Home Network Hub?

      I've had Sky broadband for a while now, and except the problems of the router dropping the conection it is OK. I have a PC and a laptop both of which connect to the Internet wirelessly but I cann't seem to get the two computers to "talk" to each other and share resources, like printers and files. I previouly had Orange broadband and used a "D-link" hub router and could do this without problems.

      Can you set the Netgear router to do this? or can you use another router to connect to Sky?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      gareth824's Avatar
      gareth824 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BE
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      74
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can The Netgear Router Be Used As A Home Network Hub?

      Hi,

      Yes it's very easy to do. I share my printer and drives with my laptop. First make sure your Workgroup name is the same for both PC and Laptop. Do this by goin to: Control Panel: Sytem: Computer Name and where it says 'Workgroup' make sure it says 'MSHOME' in both PC and Laptop.

      If one is different simply click the 'Change' button and rename the Workgroup. Once done you may need to reboot. Once done go to 'My Network Places' where all your Shared printers and drives should be showing.

      Don't forget to see a printer or drive in My Network Places you must set the sharing permissions for that device. Do this by right clicking on the printer or drive and selecting the 'Sharing' option.

      Hope this help.

    4. #3
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Can The Netgear Router Be Used As A Home Network Hub?

      I've had Sky broadband for a while now, and except the problems of the router dropping the conection it is OK.

      It shouldn't do that! have you done any investigation as to what is causing the problem?

    5. #4
      Cestria's Avatar
      Cestria is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can The Netgear Router Be Used As A Home Network Hub?

      Quote Originally Posted by Koala5 View Post
      I've had Sky broadband for a while now, and except the problems of the router dropping the conection it is OK.

      It shouldn't do that! have you done any investigation as to what is causing the problem?
      I keep meaning to investigate the problem (my wife keeps reminding me ). Now I've got my teeth into the network problem I have, I'll persue it. I've seen several posts here on Skyuser so it's good place to start.

    6. #5
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Can The Netgear Router Be Used As A Home Network Hub?

      Well I've been with Sky since November suffering regular disconnections at the beginning and I too thought it was the so called "crappy router" but after finding this forum and taking some advice it turned out to be wiring issues. Sorted that and mines been fine for the last 5 months.

      Just so you know its worth looking into,

      Good Luck
      Kev.

    7. #6
      pjn1978's Avatar
      pjn1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clerkenwell (London)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      London
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can The Netgear Router Be Used As A Home Network Hub?

      I have tried the above to no avail is it because my laptop runs on vista and my desktop runs on XP ?

      Do i need to change any setting within the router?

    8. #7
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Can The Netgear Router Be Used As A Home Network Hub?

      No, the router does not restrict traffic on the local LAN. Yes, it probably is a problem between Vista and XP, sadly.
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

    9. #8
      Cestria's Avatar
      Cestria is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can The Netgear Router Be Used As A Home Network Hub?

      I'm starting to think I might be having trouble with my Macafee Antivirus suite, as the suggestions here haven't had any effect

    10. #9
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Can The Netgear Router Be Used As A Home Network Hub?

      You could try removing McAfee to see if that fixes the issues you are having. There are better programs out there anyway.

    11. #10
      pjn1978's Avatar
      pjn1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clerkenwell (London)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      London
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can The Netgear Router Be Used As A Home Network Hub?

      Hello Again

      I have managed to link the 2 computers together now but for some reason the printer is no allowing access from the laptop it say access denied anyone know anything that i could try to get it to work? it shows up as a useable printer on the laptop but says access denied when i try to print anything

      TIA
      Paul

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION