Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    have Sky Router I'm online BUt!!! noise margin is low

    This is a discussion on have Sky Router I'm online BUt!!! noise margin is low within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I finally got my router on Saturday 9th Now connected but I keep on loosing my connection. It appears to ...

    1. #1
      bucketheadbob's Avatar
      bucketheadbob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Problem Fixed Now have Sky Router I'm online BUt!!! noise margin is low

      I finally got my router on Saturday 9th Now connected but I keep on loosing my connection.
      It appears to be due to a very low noisemargin of 7db this has some times dropped to 3.9db . I have connected directly into the test socket so I know it's nothing in the house wiring causing the problem. What else can I do .
      I am going tophone Sky tier 3 tonight and see if they have any suggestions.
      I have already been through the normal technical help department and they say the line tests OK!!

      speed 5560
      attenuation 39db
      noise margin 7 sometimes

      any suggestions
      Last edited by bucketheadbob; 21-09-06 at 03:16 PM. Reason: Fixed now problems gone


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      508
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
      dslzone says you should be able to get 10-14Mb.

      I'm having exactly the same problem SNR 7db but when it falls under 4db the connection is lost and a reboot is required but you then sync at a much lower speed

      I'm waiting for tier 3 support to phone me with their findings but it does not look good.

      At least you're getting 5Mb I'm lucky if I get 2.5Mb

      I suspect our problems are from the old BT wires that go to the exchange. If so I cannot see how Sky can resolve the issue without capping the connection at a much lower speed.

    4. #3
      bucketheadbob's Avatar
      bucketheadbob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Noise BT or Sky ???

      Annie
      you are thinking the same as me . I was wondering who checks out the line is it BT I ask or do Sky ask BT ?? It could just be some bad joints in the system from the exchange or i suppose it could be a noisy board in nthe exchange.

      bob

    5. #4
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      508
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
      Problem is it could be 1001 things wrong on the BT side but if you have a noise free line for voice they have no obligation to do anything with your line.

      They do not have to tweak your line for ADSL data or dal-up, so until a law is passed they don't need to do a thing.

      If you contact BT they will only do a basic noise test and nothing on the ADSL side as that belongs to Sky.

    6. #5
      bucketheadbob's Avatar
      bucketheadbob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Annie

      It looks like I might have to push Sky to get BT to test the line.It might work i'll let you know.
      thanks for the help

      Bob

    7. #6
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      just one question are you guys useing the sky supplied adsl filters..?
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    8. #7
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @bucketheadbob & Annie

      If I were you I would get rid of them dingily dangily filters and get a faceplate for the master socket I find they are much better, if you want to see more about them go ADSL Nation
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    9. #8
      bucketheadbob's Avatar
      bucketheadbob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile

      Thanks Wheelie

      I have just ordered an ADSL face plate : With a 30 day money back guarantee I have nothing to loose . Some of their reviews seem to suggest that I might get an improvment in my SNR(even compared to my incoming test socket). I,m not sure how this can be improved by using the ADSL face plate , but who knows everything( I certainly don't) .

      I'll report back with the results

    10. #9
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Ok and good luck
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    11. #10
      Alphawao's Avatar
      Alphawao is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Battersea (WRBATT)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Earth
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Sorry to jump in here but I needed to know....
      Wheelie my speed is stuck at 7645 even with it connected into the test socket so whould the XTE-2005 improve things.

      My latest stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7645 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27.5 db 15.2 db
      Noise Margin 15.9 db 10.5 db

      When I was with Zen I tested my potential speed which said I should get between 12-16 MB.
      Can tier3 fix my speed?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION