Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 30

    Slow BB speeds

    This is a discussion on Slow BB speeds within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, we've been with sky for a couple of months now, and have consistantly had about 280kbps on a midi ...

    1. #1
      kliro's Avatar
      kliro is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sale
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow BB speeds

      Hi, we've been with sky for a couple of months now, and have consistantly had about 280kbps on a midi (8mbps) connection.

      Sky have said everything is fine, and the stats look good.

      Where would the problem lie? Someone suggested sky are capping me. Could there be something wrong with the router?

      Here are the stats;

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 288 Kbps, Downstream rate = 288 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 30.3 29.0
      Attn(dB): 17.0 9.0
      Pwr(dBm): 5.2 11.8
      Max(Kbps): 10624 1116
      Rate (Kbps): 288 288
      G.dmt framing
      K: 10(0) 10
      R: 0 0
      S: 1 1
      D: 1 1
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 10 10
      M: 1 1
      T: 1 1
      R: 0 0
      S: 1.0000 1.0000
      L: 88 88
      D: 1 1
      Counters
      SF: 7031514 7031512
      SFErr: 23 114
      RS: 0 0
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 3 42
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 81193926 0
      Data Cells: 1465701 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 21 0
      SES: 15 0
      UAS: 12 0
      Total time = 1 days 9 hours 12 min 36 sec
      SF = 7031514
      CRC = 23
      LOS = 22
      LOF = 0
      ES = 21
      Latest 1 day time = 9 hours 12 min 36 sec
      SF = 1950310
      CRC = 8
      LOS = 7
      LOF = 0
      ES = 7
      Latest 15 minutes time = 12 min 36 sec
      SF = 44521
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5081204
      CRC = 15
      LOS = 15
      LOF = 0
      ES = 14
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0



      Local exchange is 1.1KM away, and the same results show on both wired and wireless connections.

      TIA


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Slow BB speeds

      Yes looks like you are heavily capped, probably due to very high errors on the line. You are showing a few CRC errors even at your slow speed. You need to check out extension wiring etc look in the Router Stats and telephone wiring sections of the forum for further advise. Once you have check everything is ok you will have to get Sky to remove the cap.

    4. #3
      kliro's Avatar
      kliro is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sale
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow BB speeds

      sorry, I'm not that sure what you mean. There might be a problem with the wiring in my house, or the wiring to the exchange?

      How do I fix this?

      Thanks

      Edit : I've connected the socket to the 'test' bit on my faceplate, and everything is about the same. Does this indicate that it isn't to do with the wiring in the rest of the house?

      I've also used a different micro-filter (the bit with the seperate phone/modem outputs - I think it's a microfilter?) and it's still the same. I don't have anouther one of 'those things' that plugs directly into the faceplate, so I don't know if it's that?

      I really don't know where to go from here....?
      Last edited by kliro; 27-06-07 at 08:43 PM.

    5. #4
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Slow BB speeds

      Well I think, someone will correct me if I'm wrong, you are heavily capped probably because the line errors where very high when Sky set up the connection, this can be caused by internal wiring or the line. Plugging into the test socket behind the faceplate should disconnect all internal wiring. But you need the cap removed by Sky really before you will tell if it makes a difference.

    6. #5
      kliro's Avatar
      kliro is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sale
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow BB speeds

      Right I phoned sky, who confirmed I was capped.

      The guy said he would uncap it by yesterday morning (28th June) When I got up today, I couldn't load any wed pages.

      After resetting the sky box and the router I can get back onto the internet, now when I run a speed check the downstream is at 241 and upstream is at 375. The router stats page however reports a downstream of 8096 and upstream of 448.

      What could cause this??

    7. #6
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Slow BB speeds

      Right you are now synced with the exchange at the correct speed, so I suggest you now post your stats again so we can get a better look at the errors and see whats going on.

    8. #7
      kliro's Avatar
      kliro is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sale
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow BB speeds

      okies, here are my updated stats;

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.3 23.0
      Attn(dB): 17.0 9.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 12.3
      Max(Kbps): 10304 1168
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 448
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 15
      R: 20 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 15
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 20 16
      S: 1.0784 9.0000
      L: 2040 128
      D: 64 4
      Counters
      SF: 159202 159200
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 21651540 1353200
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 51679839 0
      Data Cells: 246972 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 13 0
      Total time = 45 min 23 sec
      SF = 159202
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 45 min 23 sec
      SF = 159202
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 23 sec
      SF = 1353
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 51930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Slow BB speeds

      Zero errors - perfect connection for Mid.

    10. #9
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Slow BB speeds

      That dosen't explain why he is only getting 241kb download speed What speedtest are you using? try this one Namesco BroadbandMax ADSL Broadband Bandwidth speedtest | Test your ADSL Broadband connection speed Are you using wireless? Have you turned uPNP off in the router menu?

    11. #10
      kliro's Avatar
      kliro is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sale
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow BB speeds

      I'm using a wired connection, and have just turned of uPNP and then used that test and am still getting very similiar results. I was using speedtest.net before.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION