Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Router keeps dropping Broadband connection

    This is a discussion on Router keeps dropping Broadband connection within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have recently moved to Sky Max from Be, and am poor speed/connection issues. For the first few days, the ...

    1. #1
      rknight20772's Avatar
      rknight20772 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router keeps dropping Broadband connection

      I have recently moved to Sky Max from Be, and am poor speed/connection issues.

      For the first few days, the router synced at 15006 and was rock solid. After the 2 days, the boradband connection keeps dropping and restarting. Sync speed remains about the same, but throughput can go down to 18bytes per second.

      Was with be for nearly a year, and getting 16MB from them without issue. The only thing that has changed is the sky router, and something in the exchange I guess.

      Called sky, and they simply put the speed down, and then moved me off ADSL2+ service. Eventually capped at 4mb, but still the same problem. They keep telling me its not their problem, and refuse to replace router or look at cabling in the exchange. They dont seem interested that the line has supported 16MB without a single issue from Be. I did manage to get back onto ADSL2+ for some testing.

      I have tried the router from the test socket behind the BT faceplate, but still the same issue.

      I have my MAC code, and am about to move back to Be, but wanted to give Sky one last chance.

      My detailed stats are below - will post them again once the box has been up a bit longer.

      Thanks in advance for any help

      Rich

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15352 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.8 12.5
      Attn(dB): 36.0 20.9
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 15552 864
      Rate (Kbps): 15352 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 245(0) 24
      R: 10 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 57 68
      B: 244 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 10 16
      S: 0.5096 7.7037
      L: 4003 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 2926 2924
      SFErr: 0 1
      RS: 368764 24854
      RSCorr: 35 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1703105 51222
      Data Cells: 9 3
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 4 1
      SES: 2 0
      UAS: 44 16
      Total time = 6 min 58 sec
      SF = 21783
      CRC = 312
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      Latest 1 day time = 6 min 58 sec
      SF = 21783
      CRC = 312
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      Latest 15 minutes time = 6 min 58 sec
      SF = 21783
      CRC = 312
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      chrisypea's Avatar
      chrisypea is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waltham Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router keeps dropping Broadband connection

      As far as I know this is an issue with the UPnP in the Sky Netgear routers.

      Go to the UPnP menu in your router page and disable it.

      See if this makes a difference

      Chris.

    4. #3
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Router keeps dropping Broadband connection

      Are these stats taken from the test socket behind the face plate because it is immediately obvious that your CRC errors are high even after 6 minutes. This is normally accociated with extension wiring or line problems.

    5. #4
      rknight20772's Avatar
      rknight20772 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router keeps dropping Broadband connection

      Hi

      Yes, the stats are from the test socket behind the master socket. These are the most recent ones.

      Disabling UPnP has had no real effect. It seems to be a time of day thing. In the morning, til about 9am its fine, then the snr drops, it goes flakey for a couple of hours. Picks up about 12 til about 7pm, then does the same again. Then it will be happy for a day or 2, and then back to the same.

      I still cant understand why Be were stable for such a long time, and at a higher speed, but Sky isnt. Was thinking about trying a different router to rule that out as the problem?

      All the best

      Rich

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 14875 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.6 12.5
      Attn(dB): 36.0 20.9
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 15164 864
      Rate (Kbps): 14875 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 247(0) 24
      R: 8 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 115 68
      B: 246 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 8 16
      S: 0.5291 7.7037
      L: 3855 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 745298 745296
      SFErr: 66 8
      RS: 90181076 6335016
      RSCorr: 2070511 27
      RSUnCorr: 1046 0

      HEC: 54 4
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 418577266 21505466
      Data Cells: 14050141 8842617
      Drop Cells: 6876
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 57 5
      SES: 7 0
      UAS: 14 19
      Total time = 3 hours 19 min 10 sec
      SF = 745298
      CRC = 66
      LOS = 7
      LOF = 0
      ES = 57
      Latest 1 day time = 3 hours 19 min 10 sec
      SF = 745298
      CRC = 66
      LOS = 7
      LOF = 0
      ES = 57
      Latest 15 minutes time = 4 min 10 sec
      SF = 15677
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56211
      CRC = 8
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 7
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56212
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56211
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56274
      CRC = 15
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 12

    6. #5
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Router keeps dropping Broadband connection

      Its usually internal wiring or the line, if you are deffo in the test socket with nothing else connected then could be a line problem. Or wireless range issue if you are using wireless.

    7. #6
      rknight20772's Avatar
      rknight20772 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router keeps dropping Broadband connection

      Its definatly on the test socket, and connected via ethernet. When the link goes down, the internet light goes yellow for a while, then goes off, then comes back on again.

    8. #7
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Router keeps dropping Broadband connection

      Well your stats look ok, the only other you could try is monitor you SNR around the time you have problems SNR (dB): 7.6 12.5 if the 7.6 figure gets anywhere near 6 or below you are likely to disconnect. If so try using the mognuts utility to set it at 7 or 8 and see if it stops your disconnections. This will impact your max speed slightly, any changes can be cleared by reseting the router.

    9. #8
      Steve case's Avatar
      Steve case is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Prescot
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router keeps dropping Broadband connection

      Suggest you try using the RouterStats utility to help you see what is happening to your noise margin. It will log/graph your noise margin and show you how it changes through the day/evening. Even after eliminating noise associated with my extension wiring as far as I can, I still have line noise variations that can be both significant (e.g. 5dB drop in margin during the busy evening period) and sudden (eg very sharp fall or rise of 3dB during the day). These are nothing to do with anything happening on my premises. The only way I can get a stable connection is to use the Mognuts utility to set my target noise margin to 13 or 14 dB, and accept that this will reduce my connection speed by around 1 Mbps. Although I don't yet have sufficient evidence, I also suspect that noise has increased slightly overall in the last month.
      Useful Links
      Download RouterStats (useful utility for continuously recording noise margin)

    10. #9
      stephen69's Avatar
      stephen69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: east kilbride
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router keeps dropping Broadband connection

      I have had exactly the same problem for 6 months. Sky dont have a clue. Tier 1 technical help are useless and its impossible to get through to Tier 3.
      Its not a time of day or wireless connection issue as the same happens with the ethernet cable. By turning the router off & back on its gets the connection again. I am not a heavy internet user but having to sit next to the router to turn it off and on defeats the purpse of wireless!
      I have requested a MAC code to move service provider. The service might be cheap but no point in having it if it doesnt work.

      .... oh the irony. Tried to post this reply and the line dropped! My advice is get out now. Request the MAC cde and tell them to shove their 12 month contract

    11. #10
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Router keeps dropping Broadband connection

      Quote Originally Posted by stephen69 View Post
      I have had exactly the same problem for 6 months. Sky dont have a clue. Tier 1 technical help are useless and its impossible to get through to Tier 3.
      Its not a time of day or wireless connection issue as the same happens with the ethernet cable. By turning the router off & back on its gets the connection again. I am not a heavy internet user but having to sit next to the router to turn it off and on defeats the purpse of wireless!
      I have requested a MAC code to move service provider. The service might be cheap but no point in having it if it doesnt work.

      .... oh the irony. Tried to post this reply and the line dropped! My advice is get out now. Request the MAC cde and tell them to shove their 12 month contract
      Well everyone is entitled to there opinion of course, I have just searched the forum and this is your first ever post which leads me to believe you haven't spent any time trying to resolve the problem. I was in a similar position to you having to reboot every 30-45 minutes, a few wiring changes has meant my connection has now been stable for the last 5 month's. If your problems are line or internal wiring related Sky or any other provider will not fix it for you.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION