Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 32

    Tutorial on upgrading your router firmware

    This is a discussion on Tutorial on upgrading your router firmware within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Has anyone tried the Sky login information with a Speedtouch & DMT tool? Would be nice to see the effect ...

    1. #21
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Has anyone tried the Sky login information with a Speedtouch & DMT tool? Would be nice to see the effect changing the snr has on sync speed and stability.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      vishal's Avatar
      vishal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton Road (LWKROA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      NW London
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      the dmt tool works with the netgear router, just use the correct tool.

      you can also telnet so change the snr.

    4. #23
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      vishal re: you can also telnet so change the snr.


      do have a link anwhere that explains how to do this. also i take it the dmt tool is the one i looked at on the web that seems to be in german. is there an english equivalent.

    5. #24
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by vishal View Post
      you can also telnet so change the snr.
      Have you tried this, and if so any results?

    6. #25
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      oh, I didn't know if the program worked with netgears.

      dingdong: the program is in german, but once it connects and finds your connection it should change to english.

    7. #26
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      re: but once it connects and finds your connection it should change to english.


      that's a cool trick - does it also explian how you can lower your sync speed to get a more stable connection or does adsl2 do this anyway

    8. #27
      KILL BILL's Avatar
      KILL BILL is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: spam
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      164
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      i followed tyhe instructions as details in the tutorial but nothing happens in getting the details and restting it to a normal netgear router
      i turned off the router and reset it whilst powering on

      then ran the rmdrv tool and then update but nothing happned just the intermittent flashing on the router led and nothing happened with the update progress bar - tried it 2 times and zitto squat !!!

      any suggestions ?

    9. #28
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      dingdong: the netgear version is here http://dmt.mhilfe.de/down/index.php?...ownload=b1.zip and it displays in english.

      I can't be sure if it works yet because I'm not activated and don't have the router, but maybe someone with a flashed router can try and see what results they get.

    10. #29
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @OhNoes

      Ran that program not sure which annex to select, but even when i select both and try and connect it just errors saying cannot identify modem type

      i used port 23 as was the default is that correct

    11. #30
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yes, it should be port 23 and I think it's annex a. could you paste a screenshot of the errors you're getting?

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION