Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 32

    Tutorial on upgrading your router firmware

    This is a discussion on Tutorial on upgrading your router firmware within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; ^^^^^ dam coffee all over my monitor...

    1. #11
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      ^^^^^

      dam coffee all over my monitor




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      508
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
      That bear's got no winky

    4. #13
      Ratti3's Avatar
      Ratti3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Brighton, UK
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I can photochop one back in

      Edit: which reminds me I still need to do some Skyuser logo's

    5. #14
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      ***cough***




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #15
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      508
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
      Are you giving the bear a medical ???????

    7. #16
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by anniebrion View Post
      In Sky's T&Cs your surposed to let Sky have access to update the software on the router, but if you're not running the Sky F/W your in breach of their T&C and can have your account cancelled
      I've also read the Subscription Contract and don't believe that updating the firmware does constitute breach of contract:

      Firstly 3c. This states that the router hardware is your property but the software on it is "owned or licensed to" SHS. This is the same clause that PCs have with preinstalled software with the exception that in the case of a PC, the software is licensed to you, not the supplier of the PC. However, as the owner of the hardware, you are under no obligation to keep any particular piece of software on the router whoever it is licensed to and the Subscription Contract indeed reflects this. For example, you could remove all the software from the router whether the software happened to be licensed to you, me, Santa Claus or James Murdoch! I'm labouring the point because it begs the question of how, if you were SHS, you'd maintain and support the service? The answer is that SHS insists, as does the last part of 3c, that "you must allow this software to be updated". (No mention of how this is to be achieved. However, without doing an "emergency" firmare update they will probably need root access, but telling them the root password - or absence of one - I believe constitutes allowing the software to be updated!)

      What about 3d? Well this says that the Sky Broadband box must be used to access Sky broadband. An updated firmware clearly doesn't breach this. The final clause, I believe, is spurious as it says "Your Broadband Box is not supplied as being capable of being used to access any other Internet service." Well, we all worked that one out. However, what it doesn't say is "Your Broadband box cannot be used to access any other Internet service." Why the specific wording? Because Sky have no juristiction to specify how you use a piece of hardware that you own! My guess is that at a legal meeting, SHS said that they didn't want the router to be used with any other ISP. The legal bods probably asked who owns the router and SHS would have said "the customer" in which case the legal team would probably have replied that SHS cannot legally stop them using it with another ISP, so SHS would have asked for wording that appearded to discourage it use with another ISP without actually legally preventing it! (Yes, this does really happen in business.)

      Discuss.

      (PS. I'm no lawyer and am not condoning or otherwise firmware changes on the router!)

    8. #17
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @mossywell

      Sounds reasonable to me. I'm more concerned with being in a situation where i can access my sky broadband account if my sky router fails without needing to wait days for sky to send a replacement.

      Flashing the router and getting your password and account name enables you to do this as you can then hoefully use your current router. I see nowhere in your listed snapshot where it says that the sky router MUST be used for your connection. Or is that in another bit ...

    9. #18
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      508
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
      Thanks for that mossywell, looks like I might try playing with my firmware when tier 3 have finished looking in to my line dropping problem and poor download speed.
      Last edited by Annie UK; 11-09-06 at 11:40 AM.

    10. #19
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by dingdong View Post
      Flashing the router and getting your password and account name enables you to do this as you can then hoefully use your current router. I see nowhere in your listed snapshot where it says that the sky router MUST be used for your connection. Or is that in another bit ...
      I didn't quote it earlier, but it's in 3d: "Sky Broadband must only be accessed via your Broadband Box." So, to use their service, you have to use the Sky router, but you can also use the Sky router for other things as well (it is after all, yours) such as a door stop or accessing a different ISP.

      HTH

    11. #20
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      508
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
      ...Throwing at cats...

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION