Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    is it adsl2+ errors causing slowdown

    This is a discussion on is it adsl2+ errors causing slowdown within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; here are my stats /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream ...

    1. #1
      theskid's Avatar
      theskid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      is it adsl2+ errors causing slowdown

      here are my stats
      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 13232 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.7 13.0
      Attn(dB): 36.0 21.0
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 13288 864
      Rate (Kbps): 13232 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 241(0) 24
      R: 14 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 105 68
      B: 240 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 14 16
      S: 0.5803 7.7037
      L: 3515 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 33211 33209
      SFErr: 4 1
      RS: 3686490 282276
      RSCorr: 2199 620756992
      RSUnCorr: 106 0

      HEC: 4 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 16719758 946684
      Data Cells: 110811 10431
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 6 1
      SES: 2 0
      UAS: 14 26
      Total time = 9 min 15 sec
      SF = 33211
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 6
      Latest 1 day time = 9 min 15 sec
      SF = 33211
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 6
      Latest 15 minutes time = 9 min 15 sec
      SF = 33211
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 6
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0



      I have tried to correct all wiring within the house and im sure it is fine so is it to do with BT's end that i keep getting adsl2+ slowdown tier 3 warned me of this due to the errors but i went ahead with it. just cant seem to solve the errors?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: is it adsl2+ errors causing slowdown

      What is the problem? With an Attn of 36 I don't think you will connect much faster than you are doing. In fact, it is probably on the high side of average.

    4. #3
      theskid's Avatar
      theskid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: is it adsl2+ errors causing slowdown

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      What is the problem? With an Attn of 36 I don't think you will connect much faster than you are doing. In fact, it is probably on the high side of average.
      no i get the speed then i get it really slowing down
      tier 3 said it would probably happen due to the errors on my line
      but it seems really bad tonight
      usually it would be ok for 1-2 days
      i have had to reboot 3 times tonight
      and when it slows down it slows down to 10-12 kb/s combpared to the 1300 k/bs i usually get

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: is it adsl2+ errors causing slowdown

      There are not a lot of errors on your line, but this is over a very short period. I take it you have tried running from the test socket and there is no difference? Take your stats after a few hours, they may show your errors are worse than they appear. Have you tried TCP Optimiser?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION