Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Sky BB Cdrom

    This is a discussion on Sky BB Cdrom within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi All Ive just moved over from bt to sky and seem to be having a problem, The problem is ...

    1. #1
      munkyfunk's Avatar
      munkyfunk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky BB Cdrom

      Hi All

      Ive just moved over from bt to sky and seem to be having a problem,
      The problem is when im running my instalation cd it gets to the part where it wants to install IE7, and there is no way of skipping past this without aborting the install..
      Ive basically got the router running but was wondering if im missing out on anything important which hasnt been installed from disk.
      Ive setup static ips and disabled upnp because of constant disconection issues and this seems to have worked.
      Ive dragged a connect link from the routers ip itself and all seems well but basically wondering if any specific drivers havent been installed.
      Any info would be muchos appreciated,
      Oh i dont want ie7 because I dont like it at all and uninstalled it from another pc back to 6, hence the reason for quitting the install cd.

      Regards
      Munky

      ps great site ive learned a few things browsing on here the past few days
      Nice one


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Cdrom

      I think it's mentioned quite a few times on here NOT to use the Sky cd-rom -you won't be missing out on anything at all, except rubbish mcaffee

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Cdrom

      wondering if any specific drivers havent been installed.
      Routers don't need drivers. Also unlike USB modems, they are permanently connected, so you don't need a connection icon. Clicking your Firefox icon should take you straight on line.

    5. #4
      biscuit's Avatar
      biscuit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ripponden (fairly large Yorkshire village)
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Cdrom

      Also if you want McAfee you can just log onto skybroadband.com and go to the FAQ, theres a d/l link there. Only real reason for the CD is restoring firmware in case you've put non-Sky firmware on and then your connection stops working and you have to run the 'Sky Test'

    6. #5
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sky BB Cdrom

      Sky give you McAfee as a compliment and to also help them, For example, If your connection slows down they will advise you to run a test, Just to check there isnt any Trojans, Viruses using all the bandwidth.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION