Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    routers firewall

    This is a discussion on routers firewall within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; is the sky routers hardware firewall ample enough to use without a software firewall (just windows built in one im ...

    1. #1
      djkemp1's Avatar
      djkemp1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      routers firewall

      is the sky routers hardware firewall ample enough to use without a software firewall (just windows built in one im using at the moment)

      thanks in advance for the help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: routers firewall

      All I am using is windows firewall and Avast anti virus software.

    4. #3
      armitasp's Avatar
      armitasp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      163
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: routers firewall

      The Sky router runs iptables so should be more than adequate. That is assuming it is correctly configured.

    5. #4
      -Paul's Avatar
      -Paul is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Parkstone
      Broadband ISP: Freesat
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Humax HDR + 42"
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Poole, Dorset
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    6. #5
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: routers firewall

      My mate had that zone alarm thingy on his, but it seemed to be more of a pain in the butt than anything, every web page or email he opened a pop up box would come up and want you to say yes or no to opening the page and it seemed to slow the machine right down. Maybe he didn't have it configured properly who knows.

    7. #6
      newskyBOd's Avatar
      newskyBOd Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: routers firewall

      nothing wrong with XP firewall

      test here

      Test Your Firewall

    8. #7
      mrtom2985's Avatar
      mrtom2985 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: York
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: routers firewall

      The router firewall will do just fine at blocking all the unused ports. However, if you want to control the connections that your programs can initiate, it doesn't hurt to have XP firewall on top of that. I personally dislike ZoneAlarm, has given me some real headaches in the past.

      As a bare minimum, the router firewall will be fine for you.

    9. #8
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: routers firewall

      @DJKemp, Sky wouldnt have provided McAfee if it was perfect alone, Even though McAfee isnt the best, They gave it for extra re-assurance, Use it?

    10. #9
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: routers firewall

      Quote Originally Posted by djkemp1 View Post
      is the sky routers hardware firewall ample enough to use without a software firewall (just windows built in one im using at the moment)

      thanks in advance for the help
      "ample enough" for what? If you have secret government files regarding alien abduction (!), then probably not. If you mean for every day usage, then, as armitasp says: yes it is. (I have inspected the iptables and they're not quite how I would do things, but they do the job nevertheless.)
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

    11. #10
      djkemp1's Avatar
      djkemp1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: routers firewall

      the reason i don't use the mcafee software is for 2 reasons, i run vista and people have said its not compatible and 2 unfortunatly its quite bloaty and slows down the computer.

      i currently have the vista firewall running as well.

      so would this be good for me? or do i need something more than the router and vistas built in firewall?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION