Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    New Router Delivered

    This is a discussion on New Router Delivered within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Just dug out my old DG834 and entered the usernam and password from the sky router. Bingo Connects. So i ...

    1. #11
      Dwayne Dibbley's Avatar
      Dwayne Dibbley is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ivybridge
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router Delivered

      Just dug out my old DG834 and entered the usernam and password from the sky router. Bingo Connects. So i guess its the router itself thats screwed and not the user / pass.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      dtlaycock's Avatar
      dtlaycock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing (LWEAL)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router Delivered

      lol I did exactly the same thing, ditched sky router for my DG834G after 3 weeks of intermittent connections, dropped packets and slow download speeds. Since switching it has been working perfectly.

      Now I don't know what to do with the Sky router. I'm not even convinced it is the router hardware that is the problem, it would not surprise me if it was the custom sky firmware at fault. So I can't decide whether to flash the firmware to the standard DG834GT, or whether to ask sky to replace the box and hope they send one of the rumoured new routers.


      Have you got any plans for your sky router, other than acting as a paperweight?

    4. #13
      Dwayne Dibbley's Avatar
      Dwayne Dibbley is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ivybridge
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router Delivered

      Well i would like to get more than 858K downstream speed (synced at 7616 with exchange) out of it lol. But one thing at a time i guess.

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Router Delivered

      Just dug out my old DG834 and entered the usernam and password from the sky router. Bingo Connects.
      Now try with your Sky one, see if it connects.

    6. #15
      Dwayne Dibbley's Avatar
      Dwayne Dibbley is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ivybridge
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router Delivered

      they now both connect for some strange reason, unless skys system takes a little longer to catch up.

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Router Delivered

      I have heard of this happening previously. I don't know the technical explanation, but it may be some sort of freeze which is unblocked by sending a slightly different signal. Stale connection? No doubt a techy could give a real reason.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION